We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Palmers Barn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmers Barn B&B
Ranked #17 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Prefect little place to get away for a weekend in the countryside, clean, comfortable and warm (essential close to Dartmoor in December). It's more like turning up at a friends house than going to a hotel... high praise indeed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_maddocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

A great converted barn where we were warmly welcomed by it's owners. It's situated just off the road from Tavistock to Gunnislake, very remote and with great views over Tamar valley. Warm decorated room and perfectly cooked breakfast in the morning. Perfect place from where to explore Dartmoor NP and Tamar Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Marjan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the third visit to Palmers Barn this year, always a great reception and made very welcome. Spotlessly clean and lovely to visit. Once you have visited you want to return.
On arrival you are met by David and Anne and made very welcome. Lovely rural setting with great hosts.

Room Tip: Just out of Tavistock with easy access to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claybusterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our road trip around Devon and Cornwall. It was a lovely converted barn and we were made to feel very welcome. First rate breakfast and great value for money. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger_T964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we stayed at the Palmers Barn for one night so we could attend a wedding reception near by..from the moment we arrived the owners David&Anne were so welcoming and we felt like we had known them forever..The rooms are spotlessly clean spacious with a great en-suite and the personal touches ie tea&coffee sweets and candles are all part of their attention to detail..The breakfast was superb..We were even treated by the lovely David to a glass of wine, beer and pink floyd music before we went out..Overall an excellent b&b, great views,fabulous hosts, would love to stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Friendly, courteous and helpful owners/staff, Tranquil setting with a great view, nicely situated for exploring the surrounding area. Very clean, comfortable bed and a great breakfast.
The only downside is the approach driveway. It is a track with gravel on the sides, BUT the centre is now too high and there is a serious risk of scraping the underside of ones car.
I would stay there again, but would check the driveway first.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for only 1 night in this wonderful place with extremely warmhearted hosts! We cycled on our recumbent bikes from Exeter to Palmers Barn through the Dartmoor. Anne and David really did everything to make our stay as convenient for tired legs as possible! Nice and rich breakfast, wonderful view, stylish renovated. Just great!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
2.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
530 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
230 reviews
5.1 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Barn B&B

Address: West Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: $47 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened B&B,set in an area of outstanding natural beauty within a world heritage site with stunning views over the Tamar Valley into Cornwall.Situated 3 miles west of Tavistock it is within easy reach of all the amenities of the southwest.All rooms are beautifully furnished with character features including beams.Each room has a flat screen TV,tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI,the suite also has a fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmers Barn B&B Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing