We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”

Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 67 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Historic hotel at the gateway to Dartmoor. Built by the Duke of Bedford on the site of Tavistock Abbey where the very first Cream Teas were invented and are still served today. The hotel oozes with charming features which hark back to a gentler time and its location provides guests with a close walk up on to the Dartmoor National Park.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Good service, comfortable ambience and pleasant food! Situated in the heart of Tavistock right on the edge of the Moors - well worth a visit. Has own parking!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“90th Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

On 1st December, this year, my family, friends and I celebrated my Mother's 90th birthday at the Bedford Hotel, in the Tavistock Room. My Mother thoroughly enjoyed herself. The food was very good. My mother now has some very happy memories of her birthday, due to the setting and service at the hotel.
She is a Tavistock person and remembers the time when only the 'right sort of people' were allowed in. Thankfully, those days have gone and, now, we can all enjoy the old-world charm of this very comfortable hotel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emjoweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A touch of Victoriana.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Walking through the door of the Bedford one steps back in time to all that was good about the Victorian era. The food is beautifully cooked and presented; the staff are friendly and helpful and the prices reasonable. Their Sunday lunch is excellent, with a 'starter' and 'dessert' buffet whilst the main courses offer a good variety of options. I was very impressed when I took a six year old and said afterwards that she had found the whole meal a 'little too much' and was told that we were welcome to have 1, 2 or 3 courses - which we did on subsequent visits. Just dropping in for a coffee is worth while because the ambience is so pleasant - to sit in deep leather armchair in a quiet lounge and soak up the atmosphere or yesteryear is a treat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Club annual dinner”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We used Gallery26 the function room at the Bedford for about 50 people.
Food was exceptional and the service was spot on, efficient without being obtrusive.
Nice, easy people to deal with. I've already booked again for next year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel but had a day in it attending a wedding. what we saw of the hotel was lovely and all the staff that we came into contact with were very pleasant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnitaE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Bedford Hotel - Bar & Woburn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing