We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely Sunday lunch”

The Blacksmith's Arms
Ranked #17 of 67 Restaurants in Tavistock
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A warm welcome always awaits you at this tradional country pub near Tavistock, with a fine range of real ales and wines. Our chefs run a lunch and evening menu with an extensive homemade specials board. The Blacksmiths Arms boasts a bar area with a large woodburner and a dining room that can hold approx 80 people. Booking a table is always advisable, as we get very busy. We have disabled access via our dining room, also children are more than welcome too, highchairs are available.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked a table at this pub as friends were visiting and we wanted to go somewhere that did a nice Sunday lunch. The reviews on Trip Advisor were really good so we gave it a try. When we arrived we discovered a nice, cosy pub which had a lovely fire going. The people we were with had a couple of games of pool at a table which was in the bar area before we ordered lunch. The choice was limited to what was on the blackboard rather than the menu that we had seen on the website so initially I was a bit concerned, but the choice was good and most people seemed to be going for the Sunday lunch. We were a table of 11 and some had roast beef and some lamb. Others ordered lasagne, fish cakes and jacket potatoes. The food took a little time to come but we were updated by the friendly waitresses that it was because of the jacket potatoes being cooked. When the roasts arrived the meat was already plated together with stuffing, gravy and lovely homemade Yorkshire pudding. The vegetables and roast potatoes came separately so we could serve ourselves. The jacket potatoes came with a good sized salad garnish as did the lasagne and fish cakes which also came with a generous portion of chips. I had the roast beef which was delicious. The selection of vegetables were cooked perfectly, not soggy, and the roast potatoes were homemade and wonderfully crisp on the outside. Mint sauce and horseradish sauce were provided without the need to ask. The person who had the fish cakes said they were the best he'd had. The prices were really reasonable with each person paying £10 each which left a £10 tip. Would certainly recommend to those looking for a well cooked Sunday lunch at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CA2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gunnislake
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good traditional pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This pub is not far from us, and quite popular with people we know, so we dropped in on our way back from Plymouth (always guaranteed to put a downer on our mood). It was a Thursday in February, so we were surprised to see that the car park was so full we could only just squeeze in. It was packed, with a couple of large groups of pensioners on some sort of outing, who were enjoying themselves hugely. It is a proper old fashioned (ie not gussied up to look like a Balham Bistro, as some in our neighbourhood have been) pub, with good, straightforward pub food. The fire was blazing, the service friendly and we both had delicious, hot, freshly made food from a very decent selection. What's not to like? Just right if you want a pub lunch and not a gastro-pub or anything overpriced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Justifies its good reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

On the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews we chose this pub for Sunday lunch on a (not very long) journey from North Cornwall to Plympton taking the back roads. The place is traditional pub, big roaring fire, good selection of beers, loads of happy families. The wine list is limited but very good value. We had a feisty South African cab sauv at £15 the bottle. We shared a chicken pâté for starters ( big portion) then my partner had a traditional lamb Sunday lunch and I a game casserole. Marvellous. We had to forego the long dessert list as we were so full. Devon families seem to have more stamina than we do, and were happily puddinged

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profitpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall united kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Two sections of pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We drove 15miles to go to this pub on the comments from trip advisor.on entering pub great atmosphere lively fire friendly staff, as just the two of us they squeezed us in unfortunately it was in the new room, sadly no atmosphere here more canteen style n dark walls n dark furniture, didnt help that us twi were on a table for 7, then to be put beside a lads nite out didnt help but after waiting forty five mins i do agree the pie is to die for!!!well done chef food all looked fab, owner just needs to sort new room to cheer it up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mermaid68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This lovely pub in Lamerton serves some really tasty food and the portions are a good size - you won't go hungry. We would recommend the steak and ale pie - a proper pie like our mum used to make! Very much worth a visit and stop for lunch/dinner and well priced. We will visit again. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Spacegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blacksmith's Arms also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Blacksmith's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing