We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much more”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Could be much more”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel has some nice history to it and dates back many years. Its in the heart of Tavistock which is a thriving market town. The hotel itself could do with a much needed make over inside, whilst its full of nice bits of furnishings its all rather dated. The dining room is the same, old. The food is very nice but comes with a bit of a price tag I dont really think its worth the asking price.. Its a nice place to go for a bit of a chill out and watch the world go by if your after a coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    179
    56
    31
    10
See reviews for
99
207
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Bedford for a long weekend break with two other couples, having had such a great time on a similar visit last year. This year's stay was no disappointment. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Our guest room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The bathroom had evidently been recently refurbished. There was plenty of hot water for the bath, although the flow of water to the shower was inadequate. The hotel has bags of character, with lots of period portraits and prints on the walls, along with a fine collection of antique clocks. There was a £10 supplement for us to take our dog into our room, which was not unreasonable, for which he received a welcome pack. There is also a charming, secluded walled garden to the rear. Overall, this is a lovely, friendly old hotel which is well-worth a visit. I have reviewed the food (breakfast and dinner) separately, but overall the food is very good, too.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have a problem with stairs, choose a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel hosted a 60+ person function for me in mid February and I had relatives staying several nights in the hotel. They ''loved the hotel, lovely room, lovely staff. Period but comfortably up to date. We would definitely go back. Fair price for the quality.''
My function was with just a week's notice, everything professionally managed by Maria, the room well set out and the waiting staff all well turned out, efficient and very polite. The kitchen provided extra food at no notice and we were not hurried on even though the room was required for for the evening. Simon Rowe (gen.manager) was attentive to additional requests and made sure they went smoothly. I was very pleased, and so were my guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrynorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We just had one night at the Bedford. What made it for us was the calibre of the staff. Everyone with whom we had contact was pleasant and helpful and really seemed to care. This is quite exceptional in my experience.

The hotel is old fashioned but effort has been made with refurbishment. Our room was spacious ( it had a single bed as well as our king-sized one). The furniture, including two armchairs was new and the bathroom was also new. There was some mould in the shower which needs attention but otherwise it was clean. The pillows could do with replacement. Sheets and blankets fit the hotel style!

The view from the windows ( we were in room 26 at the front) was lovely and there was little noise from the street. This may be an issue in warmer weather with windows open though. We had no problems with squeaky floors in this part of the hotel ( as others seem to have had) as there was no second floor above.

Breakfast was great and my disappointment at the lack of black pudding was overcome by the fried bread. The toast was wonderful - proper granary loaf not sliced bread.

The extensive communal space on the ground floor had a really nice atmosphere. It seemed like a popular local meeting place for drinks or a coffee. We had eaten too well at lunchtime so only wanted a snack in the evening. The staff were happy from us to order from the lunch menu in the evening. The open sandwiches are recommended as is the cheese board. In fact I had to visit the country cheese store by the market to buy some of the cheese I had at the Bedford. There is local cask beer on offer.

I did baulk a bit at the room prices when I booked but I guess you are paying for all the public rooms. I would love to stay here again and would certainly be tempted by the sister hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HazelRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear HazelRuth
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review on The Bedford Hotel regarding your recent one night stay with us, I will pass on to the Chef your delight in having his home made granary bread for breakfast. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time, staff excellent, room beautiful, hotel fantastic! Would highly recommend this to any one who wants to feel like they have been looked after! The breakfast is really good and you are made to feel welcome by everyone to speak to in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Matt L
Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review on The Bedford Hotel regarding your recent staff with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Passing through Tavistock and just came in for dinner.After having a nice glass of wine by the fire,a friend and I moved through to the restaurant-passing on the way the cosy looking bar which was busy with people having drinks and early-evening supper.The chef really did us proud with a tasting menu which was utterly fabulous...the staff were all very attentive and friendly and there was a nice atmosphere in the room.I would definitely re-visit next time I'm in this part of the world again.

SG,London

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear SGLondon2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review regarding your recent meal here at the Bedford Hotel. We do have a great team of chefs who love cooking with fresh local produce and we are pleased that you enjoyed them too. We hope you will be back soon to enjoy once again the great atmosphere here at the Bedford.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fantastic weekend at The Bedford; made even better by the lovely Reception and Bar staff. The afternoon tea here is amazing. From booking to the friendly welcome, from the cream tea to our peaceful and comfortable room.... All was great. Nothing too much trouble ... Will definitely be going back. Thank you to the great team at The Bedford for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear CM20
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on the Bedford hotel regarding your recent weekend stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bedford in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
168 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,049 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing