We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food,Glorious Food!”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Passing through Tavistock and just came in for dinner.After having a nice glass of wine by the fire,a friend and I moved through to the restaurant-passing on the way the cosy looking bar which was busy with people having drinks and early-evening supper.The chef really did us proud with a tasting menu which was utterly fabulous...the staff were all very attentive and friendly and there was a nice atmosphere in the room.I would definitely re-visit next time I'm in this part of the world again.

SG,London

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SGLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear SGLondon2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review regarding your recent meal here at the Bedford Hotel. We do have a great team of chefs who love cooking with fresh local produce and we are pleased that you enjoyed them too. We hope you will be back soon to enjoy once again the great atmosphere here at the Bedford.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 527 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fantastic weekend at The Bedford; made even better by the lovely Reception and Bar staff. The afternoon tea here is amazing. From booking to the friendly welcome, from the cream tea to our peaceful and comfortable room.... All was great. Nothing too much trouble ... Will definitely be going back. Thank you to the great team at The Bedford for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear CM20
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on the Bedford hotel regarding your recent weekend stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bedford in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had a very delicious meal today with a very large group. The food was excellent,and also hot which is often a problem with large parties and the service was prompt and it was an overall enjoyable experience.
The hotel was very busy so I was impressed with the fact that we were served such a beautiful meal so quickly. well done !
I have had several meals here lately and every time have been happy with both the food and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorsTavistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Taylors Tavistock
Thank you for posting a lovely review regarding your recent lunch at the Bedford hotel. It’s great to here that have enjoyed the service and the food on numerous occasions and we hope you will enjoy many more.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My partner and I only stayed for one night but we really enjoyed it here. The staff were friendly and informative, the evening meal was excellent and the bar although small was well stocked. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. However we would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Frank A
Thank you for posting a lovely review regarding your recent one night stay at the Bedford Hotel and I will pass on to the staff your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Only booked in for one night on a business trip to Tavistock...... I will be using this again for both business and social visits. I love the history and the Olde worlde atmosphere. The staff were pleasan, friendly and most helpful. Check in easy and all information I needed was provided. The bar is small and limited but has nice real ale at a slightly higher price than normal but that is to be expected. Food was reasonable, well cooked and prompt and well presented. The room was great - spacious and well maintained , a very comfy bed and a good size bathroom with a good shower. A decent breakfast as well........ and no charge for parking overnight ! a big plus. Thanks , keep it up and see you again in the future.

I am not aware if the hotel has a gym or pool - don't think so hence the average mark.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Mike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear 999Mike_12
Thank you Mike for posting a great review regarding your recent business trip to Tavistock. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team who help to create that great Olde worlde atmosphere and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bedford whether it is for business or leisure.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I frequently visit this hotel for coffee but when we saw the Valentines day inclusive offer we thought we would take advantage of it
I asked for a quiet room and was very pleased with what was allocated
The room was very clean and comfortable
The dining room was decorated to mirror the valentine tradition
The food was plentiful and well presented
Would certainly do it again

Eddie 4085

Room Tip: We had room 38 but it's at the top of two sets of stairs so if stairs are a problem wait a few m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear eddie4085
Thank you posting a review on the Bedford Hotel regarding your Valentines stay with us. It’s nice to hear that you thought the dining room was tastefully decorated for Valentines, it’s was a very successful evening and we are glad you had a lovely evening as well. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Having been let down by another Tavistock restaurant my husband and I dashed to the Bedford. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a delicious meal from the brasserie menu. It must be fate that we celebrated our 33rd anniversary in the same place as our wedding reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towsermowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear towsermowser
I ‘am pleased to hear that we were able to make your 33rd Wedding Anniversary special and I will pass on your comments on the delicious food to our Chef and his team, and we look forward to welcoming you both in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,426 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,100 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range: $155 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing