We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this hotel”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at The Bedford last weekend and found it to be comfortable and clean. All the staff are a delight and made me feel very welcome. My room 35 was perfect - thank you. I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G&SMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 539 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as a group of golfing buddies. The hotel exceeded expectations. The cuisine is excellent, the rooms are clean & comfortable and the bar-lounge is very sociable. The staff throughout the hotel were great. 'Old-fashioned' usually means 'dated & tired' but not at the Bedford. I would definitely like to stay here again. Thanks very much for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alt-aq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovely stay. Thank you very much. Beautiful room and lovely breakfast. Fantastic staff that made me feel at home. Great location right in the middle of town. Old hotel with plenty of character. Lovely gardens that are kept beautifully and looked lovely in the sunshine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just spent a lovely couple of days at the Bedford Hotel in Tavistock.The hotel rooms are a nice size and very clean. The food is of a high quality and served by courteous and attentive staff.The hotel is smoothly run and you are left in no doubt that your custom is very much appreciated. This is not our first stay here and it will certainly not be our last.

Room Tip: The floors are very creaky so the top floor is good to avoid irritating noise in the night.Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not a slick modern box, but an old-style comfortable elegant hotel. The rooms are fairly spacious, and have had small bathrooms fitted in. My bathroom had no bath, but a very good shower. The bed was extremely comfortable, with plenty of pillows. The hotel had arranged a special package for our rambling club reunion, with dinner bed and breakfast included, and a magnificent dinner in a private (and very beautiful) room on the middle evening. The food was nouvelle cuisine in style, and not huge in quantity, but very well cooked and served. The waiters (and all the other hotel staff) were attentive and helpful, but not obtrusive. Breakfast was help-yourself continental starters, with cooked breakfasts (most combinations) available. The hotel's location is excellent, in the centre of the fine town of Tavistock, and close to many wonderful walks on Dartmoor and by the river. I would definitely book the Bedford again for a holiday in that area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are opposite the church tower, whose clock seems to chime every quarter all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jldawson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a comfortable, old-style hotel, with superb staff. There may be a few creaky floorboards but the overall impression is of a well-run hotel with courteous, friendly and efficient staff who will go the extra mile to help.
We had come from Kent for a couple of days to be on the spot for the 90th birthday party of a much-loved aunt - with family and friends from far and wide, including Australia. It was the perfect spot to stay - right in the historic town centre, with plenty of parking, close to major routes but also to the moor for walking and bird-watching.
We were given a friendly and efficient welcome at Reception and when we mentioned Lydford Gorge, the girls at the desk gave us some information and checked out its opening times. Later, in the restaurant, the staff were courteous and efficient. There was none of the "pretending not to see you" that you sometimes find - the head waiter in particular was quick to sort out any problems and check that people were enjoying the experience. Next morning we found three cheerful young cleaners waiting to be given room keys to start work - the sort of unobtrusive attention to security that gives you confidence.
When we arrived home I found I was missing my camera, with all the party photos/videos, including a brilliant speech by my aunt. I rang the hotel and spoke to the receptionist, who remembered us and immediately double-checked the room and ... found the camera plus a couple of other small items, out of sight at the back of the cupboard! She agreed to send it back by post the same day.
All in all it was a delightful weekend, made special by the quality of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agathos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

When we decided to get married we emailed every venue we could find within an hour of our home in Plymouth, and from the off the Bedford stood out. Their events team were really friendly and helpful and within a few minutes of walking into the hotel to meet with them to discuss their package we had both decided it was the perfect venue for our day. Cosy and intimate, whilst retaining a feeling of space and light we fell for both the Woburn room for our ceremony, and the Gallery for our reception. The benefit of having more than enough rooms at a reasonable rate to sleep any of our guests who chose to stay, whilst being within an easy distance of many lovely B&Bs for those who wanted to be away from all the wedding bustle. Tavistock is such a beautiful town many of our guests who had never been before fell in love with it and intend to return on future trips to the West Country.
The staff were friendly and approachable, and always on hand during the planning stages to answer silly questions or to set our minds at ease. The list of suggested suppliers that they gave us also proved invaluable.
We decided to make a weekend of it so booked dinner for 30 on the Friday before the wedding to allow both sides of the family to mingle, meaning everyone was a lot more relaxed come the big day.
The food was AMAZING. We had a bespoke menu for both the Friday night and the Wedding breakfast. Everyone commented on how lovely the food was, and even the most difficult of dietary requirements were handled without complaint. We were even able to offer our guests a choice of wedding breakfast meal at no extra charge.
When we first viewed the hotel we thought the garden may be a little on the small side for photographs if the weather was nice, but it was actually more than enough space. We also loved the fact that there were many different areas, both in terms of light, space and decor, that if the weather wasn't favourable (quite likely in the UK) we would still be able to capture lots of wonderful photographs. As it was the weather was great and we spent a great deal of time outside.
The bridal suite was also lovely. Added to this the fantastic deal that the Bedford was offering made it £4500 cheaper than the equivalent package at the nearest rival!
We would thoroughly recommend holding your wedding at the Bedford hotel, and if we had to do it all again, we would likely do it there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
360 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
689 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
185 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range: $122 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing