We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Character”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I only stayed for one night while on business, however this hotel is perfectly located in this lovely market town. It even has its own parking which is a real plus. The staff were all friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely and clearly recently refurbished bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and freshly cooked to order. Also excellent value for money. Check in and out was easy and dealt with efficiently. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for The Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 506 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

went to the bedford hotel for lunch today, starters as self service and include smoked salmon, prawns, two different terrines, chicken liver parfait, olives, sundried tomato and cheese, eggs, couscous green salad, small bruschetta with goats cheese and different toppings, everything we tried was lovely. then you had a choice of 4 mains, including beef, pork fish and vegetarian risotto. the gravies were very tasty, the veg portions were slightly smaller than i like, but so tasty and as you are having three courses adequate. choice of deserts. all of the food was very good quality and very good value at £19.95 per head. We ate at the two bridges last week and have done numerous times in the past, but now have a new favourite at the bedford.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Reviewed this back in May 2012 when I stopped for one night on business... I have subsequently been using this hotel for business trips and have stayed here 3 or 4 times since and I will continue to do so. The hotel offers good value for money and is in a great location for wandering around Tavistock and exploring Dartmoor.
The greatest credit to this hotel is its staff - an absolute pleasure to deal with. I have always been greeted with a warm welcome and nothing is ever to much trouble. As long as this attitude continues then the Bedford will continue to succeed - its a real gem. See you all soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

I'd like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. We try to make sure our guests staying for a short stay receive the same excellent service that the guests who are staying for a leisurely break receive.
We are looking into ways of providing even more services to our business customers and have recently extended our menus to provide you with a varied selection of meals. In addition we have updated our online booking systems so you can book your stay on any sized device with ease!
Please feel free to contact the reception team who can also add you to our monthly special offers.
Kindest Regards
Simon Rowe
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great hotel great staff all are family had a great time grand kids enjoyed
. Breakfast lovely Great location rooms clean .
Will be going back again in the near future would recomend to all staff very helpfull .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I'm very pleased you had a wonderful family gathering at the Bedford Hotel, as this is one of our main objectives to be family friendly. We do indeed have some wonderful staff at our hotel who also care very much about the customer experience and i believe this is evident from your comments. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another family fun-filled stay! Please do call our reception team who can add your email to our special offers newsletter, let us do all the hard work of organizing for you!
Kindest regards
Simon Rowe
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had to do something very different this New Year's Eve and chose the offer made by The Bedford for the two night stay, starting with New Year's Eve.... This was a chance to dress up, I even taught myself to tie a bow tie.... Thanks to loads of you tube videos... Basically it's tying a shoe lace ...anyway well worth the effort... We had a great time... The group V8 were very good the food was terrific the staff were perfect as normal here.
The second night was again perfect and the break was very relaxing... Most likely we will be looking to book this again next year. We loved everything about it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 24
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryhawke-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

It’s great to hear that you had such a fabulous New year stay with us! Its a very special time of the year and a chance for everyone attending to dress-up and let their hair down.
We have a special wedding booked in for this New Year; however our sister hotel the Two Bridges will be working extra hard to make sure all of our returning guests are looked after and have an equally enjoyable experience.
In the meantime we highly recommend you become a friend of the Bedford on facebook or twitter, where you can receive all our news and special offers. If i can be of any assistance when booking your next stay with us please feel free to call me at the Bedford Hotel main reception
Kindest regards and well wishes
Simon Rowe
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been here many times during the day before...the lounge areas are comfortable & well presented and you can get a decent tea or coffee at reasonable prices. We decided to take up a Christmas Murder Mystery package and stay the night for a change. The meal was very good considering the numbers catered for but there were far too many people squeezed into the small function room meaning it was noisy (with parties) & often difficult to hear the actors. I was very disappointed with the room (19). Similar to a previous report from racer 182, the room was like a sauna & turning off the radiator made no difference. I was unable to open the window at all and was unable to sleep as a result. The bathroom was very small in keeping with the room. Although breakfast was fine and the staff were all friendly we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19 unless you like saunas.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgjplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

May i start with my sincerest apologies regarding the heat you experienced during your stay. It is true that due to varied shapes and sized rooms that we have some rooms that are warmer than others. We are indeed looking at ways that that we can tackle this without ruining the traditional charm and original features that the hotel has.
I was very sad to hear you did not enjoy your Murder Mystery experience, they have become very popular over the last year and we do take your comments very seriously to make sure everyone has a memorable time. We will look into the numbers that were booked in and take your comments on board.
I have checked the sash window in your bedroom and can confirm it was a little stiff and so we have made some adjustments to make it more accessible.
We are now hosting a range of events from wine tasting to comedy nights and i hope we can welcome you back to the Bedford to experience one of our new events in the near future
Kindest regards
Simon Rowe
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have stayed at the bedford quite a few times ,Its a lovely old style hotel with lots of charm, the staff are friendly and helpful, very nice restaurant,Great for exploring the moors, it has a lovely garden with a little stream ,tavistock is a lovely town

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the staff and your experience at the Bedford Hotel. We are very fortunate to be a 5minute drive from Dartmoor so maybe next time we can interest you in our walking break?
Until your next stay, We'd love it if you became a friend of ours on Facebook and twitter, where you can keep up-to-date with all our news and offers,
Kindest regards
Simon Rowe
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
172 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,071 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range: $153 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing