We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We very often have lunch at the Bedford, and its always a pleasure.
Food is of excellent quality and a reasonable price.
Love the old furniture and character.
The atmoshere is fantastic and the staff are always very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for using tripadvisor as a way of expressing your wonderful experience. Our aim is to provide quality seasonal produce at reasonable prices. We hope you continue to enjoy your dining experiences and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Please keep up-to-date with all of our dining experiences via our websites and facebook pages

Kindest Regards

Simon Rowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for The Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 505 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We only stayed one night, but will return. The hotel is set conveniently on the edge of Tavistock, walking distance from the covered Market and the shops.
We had a very attractive twin room, with shower room attached. The furnishings were co ordinated, the beds were comfortable. The large shower was powerful, but could have done with a little clean around the grouting of the tiles. We slept well, and had tea from the tea tray provided. I would have liked to see a variety of teas rather than just one choice.
The staff in reception were welcoming and cheerful, carried our bags to the room and explained how things worked.
My only complaint would be the problems that the hotel has for disabled people. I realise thatt it is a listed building, but there is a long walk from a lower carpark. There are steps to the front door. The ground floor bedrooms are small and do not have showers, essential for someone who can't cope with a bath. However, I believe that there are plans in the future to address some of these worries.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon_Rowe, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we don't keep an extensive selection of teas in guests rooms; however we do provide a range of teas to our guests, and can always bring them to your room upon request. We have plans in the future for a room on the ground floor providing wet room facilities for disabled guests and partners.
We hope you had a great new year and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Last minute drop-in whilst on a long trip. We were greeted by Katie, a lovely and very helpful member of staff who made us a lovely coffee and made us feel very welcome even though she was busy on the reception desk and serving drinks on the bar alone.
We may plan a trip back for a weekend away early next year as the hotel is full of character and in a very convenient setting with it's own secured, free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herpchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is our second visit to the Bedford, a very imposing building. Superb entrance with wonderful old furniture. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The reception rooms are comfortable but the chairs could do with a little more stuffing in them nowadays.
Breakfast was good and a very good selection of food on offer, staff very attentive. My only fault is with the bedrooms bearing in mind that this is our second visit in 3 years. Our room was a very good size on the ground floor this year but oh the squeeky floor boards........ we tried our best to miss them or "step over" them but to no avail. There were simply too many. Apparently it was not only our bedroom - our friends in an upstairs bedroom had exactly the same and the bedroom immediately above us most certainly had the same trouble as the floor boards above woke us up at 6am and kept us awake for a good hour. Not an easy problem to fix. This hotel is not cheap for B&B so perhaps they could have a try sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a bedroom without all the squeeky boards, it will drive you up the wall.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel itself was very nice and the room was up to a very good standard. But dont stay on the second floor. Our shower in room 30 didnt get hot. We were told the hot water would take a while being so far away from the boiler!!! After 30 mins we gave up, only to find they could not get it working after 2 days with no discount offered!!!

Room Tip: Whenever you get into the room always check the shower, the hotel was packed due to our wedding so c...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leecarey197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Easy to find with good parking, friendly staff and super-clean rooms, all at a very reasonable rate. The cooked breakfast had a thumbs up from our group too. Central location and just a few minutes from a fabulous open air market

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsonSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Bedford Hotel offers a great range of dining. There are three restaurants for lunch and dinner offering superb silver service food. At lunch the Bedford offers excellent value snacks in the bar area in delightfully comfortable seating. The service is always cheerful and attentive and you never feel rushed.

The hotel is located close to the centre of Tavistock and has its own very convenient parking area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
172 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,069 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range: $153 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing