We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality Indian fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ganges

The Ganges
Ranked #23 of 67 Restaurants in Tavistock
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a very wet night so it was a little quiet in the restaraunt but the service was great and the food piping hot and very tasty. Worth a visit. we would go again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    54
    27
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“True to its origins (Bangladeshi)...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a recommendation from the place we were staying - Rockmount B&B. You can never really tell from the outside what the food will be like. Well there was absolutely no problem with this one. Very nice chicken dishes, we had the one with the "Indian lemons". They were shatkora, from Bangladesh (Cilet) so I was really pleased with this choice. I believe this to be an authentic dish, as I have cooked with the real thing before. And really fresh. The Peshwari Naan bread was delicious. We had ample food (without a starter) and including the drinks, popadoms and chutenys, came to a total of £35. No complaints, but a strong recommendation. Thank-you!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went on a Monday evening and it was fairly busy, which says something about it's reputation. The food was great and the service relaxed. A nice ambience. Inexpensive and great value for money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Curry for Ages!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very good curry house and I would highly recommend going for the Indian style food were you get a little bit of everything. Food was exceptional , service a little slow but you cant have everything!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyman2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I’ve been eating here since it opened many years ago and at one point I even lived in a flat above the next door shop (which was torture with the wonderful smells wafting in sometimes). I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad meal at The Ganges in that whole time.

The service is generally very good and on my last trip there the young waiter was even bold enough to recommend an alternative dish when he took my order which turned out to be absolutely delicious. I like that, a waiter who actually wants to improve the customer’s experience.

The standard of food is always high, generous and delicious. Their menu is vast and there is something for everyone on there (they even cook the Phall which you don’t find in many restaurants). The restaurant itself is nice and cosy with tables positioned down each side of the main room. During busy times it can appear packed but spacing between the tables is adequate.

Always popular and busy, booking a table at weekends is essential.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldfishrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ganges also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing