We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, wonderful service”

Tavistock Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavistock Bunkhouse
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I travelled with a few friends to a couple of towns in the region and so stayed at a few different places. Tavistock Bunkhouse was by far the best. Its close to the city centre and easy to find. The bunkhouse is adjacent to a family run pub and the pub owner is also the owner of the bunkhouse. The facilities are very good. Comfortable bunk beds with up to 8 people being able to share 1 room. The bathroom is clean and the showers are good. The breakfast is also pretty good. Make sure you spend some time at the pub. It's cosy and the owner is friendly. All in all, definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

We spent a night in the bunkhouse after a very very wet cycle ride from Plymouth. Very family friendly, lovely and warm, really clean, comfortable beds, hot showers and really friendly. Thanks Tavistock bunk house - only one thing - it would have been good to have had a small communal area ... but not complaining ...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I spent a few nights in the bunkhouse as a single traveller, was made to feel very welcome, if only the weather had been better.
The hostel was kept very clean and comfortable and the pub warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My three friends and I were traveling around the area for a few days, mostly walking and taking buses, some cycling; staying in different hostels along the way. The Tavistock Bunkhouse had just been built so everything was new. We stayed in a large room which itself was divided in four smaller rooms with cloth courtains as doors. A bunk bed for two was available per division. It felt extremely cozy with wooden bed, walls and ceiling. The bathroom is a few steps away, very clean and even though the shower is timed, it is more than enough to wash your hair (mine is pretty long). Compared to other places we stayed in the South West, it was the best in value for money.

So, the infrastructure is good, confortable, cozy and clean, however, one of the best things is the owner, very funny character and easy going. Definitely worth meeting him!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lakedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Tavistock bunkhouse provided a luxurious bunkhouse experience for us for one night in May. We were travelling as two families, cycling from Ilfracombe to Plymouth. Safe bike stowage, cosy duvets and spotless bathrooms made our stay very pleasant. The adjacent pub was welcoming and there are many restaurants nearby. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank april032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
358 reviews
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Drake Road B&B
One Drake Road B&B
#8 of 25 in Tavistock
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Bunkhouse

Address: King Street, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Tavistock
Hotel Class:2 star — Tavistock Bunkhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Tavistock Bunkhouse is right in the centre of Tavistock which nestles in to the Dartmoor Hills close to the Tamar Valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty. The accommodation is located next to the hugely popular Devon Coast to Coast Cycle Route which stretches for more than 100 miles and includes the Tarka Trail, the Granite Way, and the Plym Valley Trail. It’s also within easy reach of the Gawton DH and Tavi Woodlands downhill mountain bike trails.The self-contained hostel accommodation will include three separate bunk rooms, sleeping up to 20 people, a drying room, toilet and shower facilities, a secure cycle storage area and a ‘wash down’ area for cleaning muddy bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tavistock Bunkhouse Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing