We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“problems with plumbing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“problems with plumbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

stayed for 2 nights this week and found the owners and staff very friendly
the location is great to relax in the countryside,and the food was good,
we went on a KGB voucher,and it was worth every penny,nice people
i would have given it 5 stars but i would not have let room 8 with the loose
taps and no cold water coming out,also it was offputing to see water driping
from the cieling in the hall GET A PLUMBER IN ASAP.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    61
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
131
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have Just returned from a three night KGB deal at The Coach House Hotel! Considering the new owners have only been there a short period of time and are still finding there feet we had a lovely time, made to feel very welcome! Food was excellent! Owners Debbie, Wayne and Yvonne couldn't do enough for us! If we go back to Devon would definitely stay there again. P.S Well done Debbie for your lovely home cooking enjoy your free time now the new Chef has joined you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmbeazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a very friendly family run business and they really try to give guests an enjoyable stay - and it works. We had a great time, relaxing, comfortable and homely. The rooms are clean and comfortable and not fancy. There is a nice walled garden, snug TV room and restaurant and well stocked bar on site. Its all you need after a day out. We would go there again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Nice double shower in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jones123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshre
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went on a KGB deal, excellent value for money. The new owners have only been there for three months and have done a great deal to turn the place around. A very homely welcoming atmosphere. Lovely hosts. The three course evening meal was tasty, hot and presented well. Breakfast was also tasty and plentiful. The hosts were really helpful giving advice on the nearest beaches etc. Will definitely be returning. Would HIGHLY recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandygirl03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the Coach house hotel. Debbie and Wayne could not have been more hospitable. There are not too many places that will welcome you with a toddler and a dog but we were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. The rooms were a good size, food was fantastic and use of the garden was a bonus for the dog - who loved his doggie breakfast each morning! Would not hesitate in rcommending this establishment and if we were to visit the area again will definitly stay here. Many thanks!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had no idea what we might expect. This hotel and all the staff were an absolute delight. They made our stay so very nice. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Would recommend this small treasure to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gammyleg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at here on recommnedation of my brother who lives locally, as we needed accommodation for a large family weeding. We could not fault the very new owners, it was truley a well run complete service, we were made to feel very important, and had a great stay. Again a big thank you to Debbie & Wayne. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book this place you will enjoy. Also lots of great pubs near by,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Ottery, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic old coach house converted into a small quaint hotel just outside Dartmoor National Park. Newly refurbished bar and restaurant. Lovely walled garden, dog friendly, walkers and cyclists welcome, bookings advised. Campers welcome in car park free if use bar or restaurant. Small wedding and functions catered for. Non residents welcome. Home cooked food. Home cooked Sunday lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing