We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Despite the cold, damp and murky weather on our recent visit to The Coach House Hotel in Ottery, there was a very warm welcome awaiting us by owners Ed & Merl, and our rooms were very cosy, warm and well equipped too. Drink making facilities in the rooms with a considerable selection of drinks, complimentary cookies/biscuits etc.,and on the first evening we decided not to venture out, but eat in the hotel. We were not disappointed, both choosing steaks from a varied menu,and cooked to perfection, trimmings and all! Compliments to the Chef, who in this instance was, Merl herself, thank you, Ed & Merl for a very enjoyable couple of days,look forward to a return visit during the Summer months!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 7 & 8......When the person in room 7 uses the bathroom and the fan goes on, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TESSY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    61
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
22
135
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Godney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent five nights at the Old Coach House Inn, which we booked at very short notice after finding our holiday accommodation as originally booked was not fit for human habitation (see my review of Riviera Bay Holiday Park in Brixham). The place was great - just what we needed - and was excellent value. Contrary to the previous reviewer's assertion, the owner was helpful, good conversation, and we had a great time. Evening meals, on the evenings we ate in, were perfectly adequate. breakfasts were absolutely brilliant. Our room was just right for us, really comfortable.

I really can't fathom where the previous reviewer came to find the owner rude - I can only assume they arrived and were so ill-mannered as to alienate the owner on arrival - we're all human!

From this base in Ottery (which is just west of Tavistock) we were able to spend a brilliant five days on and around Dartmoor, and will certainly return.....five stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed there thankfully for just the one night.....never again,the owner is a rude man who has no time for his guests whatsoever, the food we ate was of a poor quality and was almost dropped onto the table without even so much as a smile. The room was cold and damp and had a worn out appearance and feel to it (described as rustic),dirt was every where even the complimentary biscuits with the tea tray were broken no attention to detail what do ever.we ended up leaving with a bad experience only reassured by the fact that we were not alone in our unhappiness with it all. Basil faulty eat your heart out....never again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dcliffor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed three nights but didn't do evening meals due to work requirements. Breakfast was however very good value for money! Nice and hot, a sensible amount and promptly served.
My room was fine, plenty of hot water and an efficient shower. Clean and well tended.
Good value for money, away from the "hubub" of town centre hotels. In a working farming area there are however farm vehicle movements so rural peace isn't all birdsong!
I enjoyed my stay and would/will happily return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewdown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We travel to Devon a lot. Usually stay in a travelodge but decided to check out alternatives. We stayed 3 nights B&B here for the same price of the travelodge at Sourton Cross which was room only. We had an room outside the main building which was large with plenty of storage space, hangars, a variety of hot drinks and biscuits. A super large bed which was extremely comfortable. The shower room was quite small and the electric shower was a bit hit and miss with both temperature and flow of water. The area was super peaceful and quiet but a good location for getting out and about. Tavistock town is amazing. Yes we agree with other comments about being a little dated but we feel the price reflected this. The breakfasts were superb - freshly cooked to order and just how you ordered it. We would certainly stay here again rather than a travelodge. We chatted to a few other guests over breakfast - some of which had been coming here for years. We feel this would appeal more to the 'older' generations because of the peace and quite and the fact it is not 'modern' The TV in our room did have freeview so we did have a choice of channels to watch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the outside area in Room 3 which we found to be warm and comfy with plenty of storage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We went to the Coachouse for a Sunday lunch whch is a "proper" carvery - visit the carvery, choose your meat and serve your own veg.
We arrived earlier than our booked time and had to get our own drinks from the bar. This was explained, so no real hardship.
There were a lack of menus available, so we borrowed some off an adjacent table. 20 mins after sitting down, the waittress introduced herself and took our order.
40 mins later we were still waiting for our starters to be brought out. When they arrived the soup was lovely and full of flavour and the bread roll was warm.
After eating the starters, we made our way to the carvery, despite the plates still being on the table. By now it was obvious that THE waittress was trying to cope with approx 30 diners, so it was no wonder she was struggling to cope.
At the carvery, the beef was all but gone and overcooked. The server apologised, but to be fair, we shouldn't be penalised for being last - they knew how many diners were in and should have planned accordingly.
The food was excellent. Plenty of veg to choose from, although some labels would have been helpful for content.
The service remained slow - if they could sort this out, it would be a great place for Sunday lunch. The price is reasonable for the area and its peers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We should have guessed by the welcome we received that we were not in for a good night. We settled down in the restaurant and ordered some drinks from the 'snug' bar. The beer on tap (Carlsberg) was cloudy and tasted awful. The coke for the children was completely flat. The main menu was ok, as you would expect in most pubs, however the specials board looked and sounded very nice. Two out of the three adult meals were from the specials. All were at best ok, but not what you would expect to pay restaurant prices for. The food was luke warm and basic. With a combination of poor food and poor beer i will not be returning to this venue. If you are having a drink, make sure its a bottled beer or soft drink!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvest72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Ottery, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic old coach house converted into a small quaint hotel just outside Dartmoor National Park. Newly refurbished bar and restaurant. Lovely walled garden, dog friendly, walkers and cyclists welcome, bookings advised. Campers welcome in car park free if use bar or restaurant. Small wedding and functions catered for. Non residents welcome. Home cooked food. Home cooked Sunday lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing