We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My partner & I needed somewhere to stay to attend a wedding one week before Christmas. Most B&Bs operate a two night minimum stay over a weekend but Apple Tree were happy to take us in for one. While we dressed for the Wedding Andy rang around to find a restaurant that had a free table that close to Christmas. Extremely comfortable & cosy room, fabulous breakfast and charming hosts. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 321 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

We would not hesitate to recommend the Apple Tree B&B to any of our friends and colleagues,
We stayed for one night, the rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated.
The young couple who runs it were very charming and extremely helpful.

We will be definitely staying there again.



Oscar, Leila & Tim Stewart

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a warm welcome with fresh coffee; the service continued to be friendly and efficient throughout our stay. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was comfortable as well as elegant and we fell in love with the heated bathroom floor! Everything we needed for a weekend in Tavistock, which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay here, such a shame was only for one night.
Andy and Jayne were indeed perfect hosts, the house is delightfuly decorated, extremely comfortable, welcoming and clean, we also had a cuddle with their beautiful baby Darcey.
Wide choice for Breakfast, very tasty and freshly cooked.
We wouldn't hesitate in booking the perfect Appletree B & B again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul and Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Apple tree over Christmas as was visiting my boyfriends family. This B&B is outstanding from the decor, the style, the rooms, the food and the owners... Even baby Darcy and the chickens :-)
We arrived early afternoon with a friendly greeting from Andy who kindly took my case, he brought us coffee to our room and showed us the breakfast options ..... So much to choose from and was cooked to perfection. We had the best eggs, sausages, beans, toast, fruit juice along with cereal... It's safe to safe they are defiantly generous on their portions and was cooked to the highest standards.

we stayed in the Scarlett room that is situated on the first floor , it is like going from home to to home.. Super clean carpets and bedding, I didn't want to leave .

Andy and Jayne have the best taste, the breakfast area is so beautiful as you will see from the photos, it was a very stylish Christmas atmosphere.

We met Jayne on our second day and baby Darcy who are both lovely .... It was defiantly a wonderful stay and the when I was asked what could be improved... I 100% am certain they couldn't do anymore here and will never stay anywhere else when we we visit Tavistock next month.

Thank you Jayne and Andy xxx

Room Tip: The Scarlett Room is brilliant .......king size bed, tv, spotless bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a really lovely stay here again and look forward to staying again. Our room (1) was spacious and chic, lovely and warm and very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything we needed to enjoy our visit. Breakfast was great, full English, the healthy version and fresh fruit with fresh made decent coffee.
Friendly service and as always very helpfull with local knowledge.
We will be back soon

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJ1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I really cannot fault Appletree B&B. The house is BEAUTIFUL. Ditto everything in Laura S's recent review. Andy and Jane were perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, and even after such a short stay, we felt so at home. I even had a lovely cuddle with 5 week old Darcey. I recommend Appletree without reservation...and shall be most certainly spreading the word. It's worth coming to Tavistock just to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockmount
Rockmount
#2 of 25 in Tavistock
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast

Address: 44 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: $112 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast is a grade II Victorian house situated in the historic market town of Tavistock, Devon.Tavistock is a thriving town, busy with markets and small unique shops selling local produce, arts, crafts and curios, rich in history and heritage, set against the wild backdrop of Dartmoor national park. It sits within easy reach of Devon's two major cities, Plymouth and Exeter, and Cornwall's beautiful coast and countryside.The house has a contemporary boutique feel with 4 very stylish bedrooms, a relaxing dining room, blissfully comfortable beds; fine linen and fabulous en-suites, relaxation is easy. All rooms are equipped with the technology today's traveller expects; broadband connection (Wi-Fi), flat LCD TV's, Digital TV and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing