We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service - what service?”
Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockmount
Ranked #2 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Combeinteignhead
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service - what service?”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked to stay here but did not notice that the check in time was 16:00 - 18:00. I finished my last meeting at 21:00 and thought I would call the hotel to let them know I would be there shortly, only to be told my room had been cancelled. I confirmed that they had an available room but was told that check in was 16:00 to 18:00 and as I had not shown up my room was cancelled. I asked what they recommended I do as I was stranded without a room and was told "It is not my fault" and I wouldn't be getting a refund. Technically they were correct but it didn't help me (and I had paid for the room after all!) Perhaps they could have recommended an alternative and maybe even given me the number…
Attitude is everything and THESE PEOPLE SHOULD NOT BE IN THE HOSPITALITY BUSINESS.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmount, Owner at Rockmount, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Marcus E, lets get the facts correct! You called me at 22:30 to inform me that you'll be arriving at about 23:30 which is totally unacceptable when one has to consider other paying guests and the possibility that they would be disturbed, not withstanding the clearly displayed checkin times. Fortunately my reviews do suggest that my service is what people need and expect from a B&B. I probably would have let you stay or suggested an alternative if you hadn't been so arrogant. Happily, most of my customers don't have your issues with my check in times. May I suggest that in future, when booking rooms with other venues, have a read of the arrival times and if you can't make it either don't book there or call them at an appropriate hour to see if it's ok you arrive late.

Thanks, Mr Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    12
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
43
165
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We would recommend the Rockmount to anyone who wants a very special place to stay. The moment Tony opened the door to us we were made to feel so welcome (the perfect host). What excellent taste he has our room was beautiful the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in, the bathroom had toiletries supplied , there was plenty of tea and coffee in our unexpected dressing room which was a bonus. Breakfast was delicious loved that we had it brought to our room, actually loved everything about our very short stay, need to find an excuse to go back to Tavistock wouldn't even look for another B&B we would choose the Rockmount every time.keep up the good work Tony.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We selected Rockmount on the basis of the reviews published on TripAdvisor and that was such a good decision.
From the moment we arrived, a little earlier than expected, we were made welcome by Tony who whisked our luggage upstairs before we'd almost had time to say who we were. His hospitality [and breakfast 'cheffing' skills] and those of Phil were just lovely.
The bedroom was striking in black and white and with state of the art appliances including iPod dock, Nespresso machine [hurrah], snazzy kettle and blinds that really worked,. The view across the roofs of Tavistock to a somewhat 'mizzled' Dartmoor was lovely as well.
The black king-size bed was furnished with soft white sheets and we both slept like logs.
We should also mention the bathroom, because they can be such a let down in hotels across the country, but not here. An extremely effective power shower, large soft towels, back lit mirror and Molton Brown toiletries; what more can you ask for? Yes - a missing shower-cap, but that's not exactly a deal-breaker!
Breakfast was served in our room on the suitably provided table and that worked well. The bacon and sausages were so good that we set off on a search for the butcher supplying them before we left Tavistock.
Rockmount is growing and this time next year will have a further ground-floor room, with access-ramp for people with mobility problems. We wish them all the best in their endeavours as we've stayed in several B&Bs in and around Tavistock for many years, and this was easily the best on all fronts.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others, but they are so well designed that you probably won't feel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollywouldbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Rockmount during a 2 week trek through England. We were only there one night, but it was by far the most comfortable and beautiful room we encountered on the whole trip. Most of the time I find that rooms don't measure up to the comforts of home (and I don't expect them to), but this was the exception to that rule. From the views to toiletries, everything was superb. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say, If it wasn't a continent away for me, I'd go back and stay a week every summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmerGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The moment you arrive Tony welcomes you to his stylish, modern and comfortable B & B which is right in the heart of town. He is a very good host and is always willing to help. His professional style is mirrored in the tasteful decoration, beds, breakfasts and provision of local information. We relied on his dining recommendations and were not disappointed. As previous reviews have shown it is difficult to find any fault here.

Room Tip: Room 1 seems to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cresfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Tony runs this compact B and B with consummate professionalism.

Small but perfectly formed, this B and B is just what you need.

Comfy everything, modern, and surprisingly....no...unusually good breakfasts. Try the Lobster Thermidor (only kidding, but I'd bet he could fix it)

Room Tip: Just go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saddletramp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If Carlsberg did B&B's it would be this one. Everything about it oozed class.Tony was a superb host very engaging,funny and informative.The Rockmount is pristine and all the decoration and fittings are top quality.The beds are the most comfortable ones we have ever slept in on holiday and the breakfast(served in your room) is everything you need to start your day.We only booked 2 nights originally as we were attending a wedding,but ended up staying for the full week. We will definitely be back down to Devon and will be booking in to this little gem of a B&B again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Property: Rockmount
Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockmount Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing