We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern B&B in beautiful countryside Tavistock!”
Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rockmount
Ranked #3 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was an excellent B&B with very clean rooms. The only error made was in the reservation I guess where we requested for a double bed but we got two singles. Anyway, the host took quick action and put the two beds together for us. The breakfast was nice with enough choice. Was room service as they did not have a common area for breakfast but that was okay for us. The rooms were very well maintained and done to modern standard. The rain shower was excellent and the beds as my friend would describe were like clouds to sleep on. There were plenty of good places to eat nearby, Robertsons, pasty house, a eat-in fish and chips shop and a couple of pubs. Value for money as well. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 330 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent two nights here, relying on the postings about this B&B on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! On arrival we parked with ease in the large carpark at the rear. Tony, who runs the B&B arrived at the same time (great timing) and greated us. He immediately showed us to our room on the first floor, which I understand was one of the larger rooms. It had a good view of the disused railway bridge above (now a cycle path, which I am assured gives excellent views, though as I hadn't brought a bicycle with me "you could always rent one", said Tony, I have to take him at his word) and the rooftops of Tavistock on the other side. Really nice bed, nice bedding, well equipped with one of those Magimix Nespresso machines (apparently they are challenging to some guests...) large flat screen TVs, nice bathroom, and really nice carpet (slippers provided at no extra charge - so keeping the carpet lovely for some time to come...). Moving on to the location, it is an extremely short walk in to Tavistock, which has a wide selection of restaurants to suit all tastes. Tony advises on this as well, and there is also a little booklet with advice, etc. We went to Ganges (see other review) and were satisfied with eating out. Would have been nice to try out some other places, but time didn't allow it. Breakfast is served in the room (remember to specify what time), which is a slight downside, as we would have preferred to eat in a breakfast rom, but clearly the rooms are all made up as guest bedrooms. But the breakfast was delicious, the poached eggs a masterpiece (well done Tony, again) so overall this is the B&B against which to challenge the others! Full marks Tony!!

Room Tip: Just go and stay at the Rockmount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just spent a couple of nights here. Fantastic. Lovely modern rooms with all latest technology, Biggest bed I've ever slept in and oh so comfortable. Spotlessly clean and Tony is an excellent host, he even came out to meet us on arrival with an umbrella and carried our luggage in. Breakfast is served in your room and it was lovely hot and fresh. Can't praise it enough. Short walk to Tavistock ( 2 mins) Great restaurant 360 feet away. Taylors. don't miss it. You wont get better than this even if you went 5 star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I cannot recommend The Rockmount enough, and furthermore can safely say this is not your average B&B. The warm and friendly greeting was like meeting up with an old friend not seen for years. The room was spotlessly clean and very luxuriously decorated, fresh linen (very well pressed) and extremly comfortable beds made this stay my best yet in a bed and breakfast. Breakfast served in the room was lovely and the Nespresso machine was also very much appreciated. I only wish I could have stayed for more than one night. Well done, I hope your next project is as perfect as this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Greeted warmly by Tony the owner, very helpful and recommended places to eat locally, we traveled with another couple for a two night break, both rooms were beautiful, very well equipped with coffee machine and tea, hot choc etc, lovely shower, room and bathroom extremely clean, very comfortable bed, Tony brought a lovely fresh breakfast at the time we asked to our room and we ate in our room which was very restful and the food was excellent, would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone, parking no problem and a very short stroll into Tavistock

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newport21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Rockmount and had a wonderful experience, The welcome we received was friendly, welcoming and helpful and we were put immediately at ease. The bedroom (top of the stairs on the left) was spotlessly clean and it is clear that attention has been made to presentation and detail it had a modern décor with all the standard features you would expect in a hotel but executed with more style and quality.
Breakfast was great, beautifully presented with quality ingredients and well cooked delivered to the room with a smile at a time of your choice. The bed was amazing and you will definitely appreciate this detail after a full day of activities.
We fully intend to stay there again on our next visit it truly is a little gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie_Bumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over this weekend, got back home today and thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully decorated room and perfect location in Tavistock, not to mention the charming host!

We stayed in The Garden Room and plan to try out one of the rooms in the house next stay - our room was even furnished with a projector television screen which my husband has fallen in love with.

Can not recommend highly enough - look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number 5ifty 8ight Tavistock
0.4 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Tavistock
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: $114 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockmount Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing