We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed and overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Library - CLOSED

The Library
Price range: $74 - $125
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: Showcasing classic and New British style cooking embracing traditional values and them complementing them with a modern twist. Maximising flavour through careful simplicity is the aim at Browns, being passionate about using the finest ingredients that Devon has to offer and presenting them in their best light. The finest South West food in the best local restaurant is what Browns strives for.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went to Browns Hotel (not specified as the library) for lunch on Saturday. The menu we viewed outside looked good but inside we were given a much reduced selection.We waited almost an hour for main course which was 2 very small pieces of pork with 2 cold onions and some virtually raw kale. The sweet was even worse, a spoonful of yoghurt with a spoonful of muesli and 4 tiny pieces of rhubarb.

This would have been a joke had it not cost £ 19.50 each for 2 courses.

Avoid this place if you don't want to be ripped off.!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“October Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our daughters wedding took place here in October, from 10.30am when some of day guests arrived right through to breakfast the next day. We had the most perfect time. Even though we were aware of the planned events for the weekend the day ran smoothly without the regimented feel. Nothing was any trouble for any member of staff, and we felt they were enjoying themselves too.
We are returning for the Christmas party!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“October Wedding in Browns Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Browns Hotel was the perfect choice for our wedding day, the catered to our every need and nothing was too big a request, the food was incredible and the atmosphere was perfect. Everyone has said what a perfect day it was. Our room was even decorated with lots of heart shaped cushions, fairy lights and was filled with our gifts and cards that didn't fit in our post box. We are already thinking about returning to Browns every year for our anniversary.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fayebear-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horrabridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Easy to find, average menu with lots of choice, does feel wlecoming and traditional, food was good and people even better.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Books and more books!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Such alot to for everyone, my 4 year old grandaughter was thrilled to have so many books to choose from!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 69Bassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Library also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing