We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top B&B”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We rated this as the best we stopped in while touring the UK. Mine hosts, Gil and Dave, were very welcoming and willing to go out of their way to make our three night stay there as enjoyable as possible. Very helpful with their knowledge of the area pointing out local dining options. Their homemade bread and jams for breakfast teamed with local produce were a delight. A cup of tea on arrival was most appreciated. Our room was spacious, light and had great views over the surrounding countryside. Spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was also spacious with a good sized shower. This B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went to Appledown House on the recommendation of a friend, and we owe her a considerable thank you for telling us about the B&B. My friend and I were traveling all over the UK using BritRail passes, spending about 3 days in each location. Unfortunately, there's no train station in Tavistock, but we wanted to explore some places in Cornwall without trains, too, so we decided to rent a car in Plymouth for the time we scheduled for the southwest of England and so that we could stay with Gil and Dave. We shared the twin room with the sunroom overlooking the fields. We had to stop ourselves from taking so many pictures of the views just from there. The room itself was immaculate and we constantly used the tea service in the room. Partly because we had a bigger car than planned from the rental agency, driving was more of a problem than we anticipated (American drivers--we needed a warning sign on the car for other motorists). Consequently, we did not travel as extensively as we planned in the car, but Gil gave us directions to places that were close enough that we did not pose a danger driving either to ourselves or others. She and Dave really went out of their way to help us make the most of our visit. The breakfasts were outstanding--other reviewers have mentioned their fresh eggs from their own free-range chickens, but I loved the sausages they had, too. Many of the places we'd already been to had meet that was way saltier than I liked, but these from a local butcher were great. And I could happily have made a meal of Dave's home made bread all by itself. We left Appledown House feeling more like friends staying with friends than like temporary travelers. Go there--you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hosts Gil and Dave are fantastic, so welcoming and willing to make your stay a really special one. The rooms are ultra clean and nice with fresh towels each day and tea and coffee making facilities with the added bonus of fresh milk left in a flask for you to use. Nice touches like freshly brewed coffee as soon as we arrived accompanied by biscuits. Gil makes her own yoghurt, Dave the bread and with eggs from their chickens ( some of which I have brought back with me) breakfast is stunning and really sets you up for the day.
My sister ( who beat me with her independent review below) had the larger room with the conservatory and the views are spectacular. I had the smaller room behind but to be honest apart from the space they are both a similar standard. i.e. outstanding. Given a choice most people would/ should plump for the larger room with the views, but as we had the benefit of booking both and there is an interconnecting door it was lovely for me too.
In short, if you have a car and are in the Tavistock area (only a 5 - 10 minute drive away) stay here - you wont regret it and will have a wonderful time.
Oh and dont miss the Blacksmiths Arms in the village (Lamerton), wonderful food used by the locals and very reasonable prices

Room Tip: Choose the one with the conservatory for added room and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oystergold, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Staying at Appledown House for 3 nights, while my sister and I were researching our family tree, was a really lovely experience. My husband and I shared the twin bedded room with the conservatory, whilst my sister had the interconnecting room - both were exceptionally comfortable, clean and welcoming. Both showers were powerful and refreshing, with clean towels each day. The conservatory offers fabulous views across the moors, and has a heater for the cooler evenings. Gil and Dave were so friendly and welcoming, they provided simply delicious breakfasts with home-made yoghurt, locally sourced (and delicious) bacon and sausages, and hand churned, golden butter. Tea and coffee was provided, hairdryers were available in both rooms,and the attention to detail was second to none. We would love to return in the future.
Thoroughly recommended - go and see for yourselves!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oystergold, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a genuine pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family of 4 stayed 3 nights in the 2 inter-connecting rooms whilst we were attending a family wedding.

Gill & Dave were great hosts who were friendly, welcoming and very generous. Dave dropped us off at the wedding and they even looked after our dog all day while we were at the wedding.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equiped and both had en-suites. There was a nice swimming pool, but the weather was too bad for us to make use of it. Breakfasts made with eggs from their own chickens, home made yougart and local produce were great and really set us up for the day.

We had a very nice stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Stevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were looking for a nice B&B close to Tavistock for a family birthday party and had this little gem recommended to us by a local!

We booked the twin bedded room with its own conservatory overlooking the swimming pool and wonderful views of Dartmoor. It is very spacious and was very clean with comfortable beds and good quality bedding.

The en-suite was also spacious with large walk-in shower with good water supply and fluffy towels. Fresh towels were supplied every day.

The flat screen television had a lot of channels to choose from plus a radio is supplied.

Lovely welcome on arrival from Dave & Gil and she brought along freshly brewed coffee and loads of biscuits. There are tea making facilities in the room and fresh milk is supplied nightly in a flask.

Breakfasts are substantial with fresh fruit and home made yoghurt, cereals, substantial English breakfast with local bacon and sausages, their own free range eggs and Dave makes the bread. There are some nice local walks to reduce the waistline!

There is a country road adjacent so you'll get some traffic noise but it is generally not obtrusive. Just up the road is a local garage and mini supermarket/village shop.

We stayed for three nights and paid a discounted rate of £62 per night for two people which we thought very good value for the quality of the accommodation, the location and the food.

Thank you Dave & Gil for running such a lovely B&B and making us so welcome. We plan to return.

Room Tip: The room with the conservatory gives a lovely spacious feeling and the views are magnificant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

On arrival we were greeted with fresh coffee and biscuits as we settled in for the evening. The room was very spacious with a conservatory on the back which has fantastic views over the countryside.
We still cannot get over the size of the bed! The room was ensuite with a nice powerful shower.
The next morning we went through to the main house for breakfast. Fresh orange juice, homemade natural yoghurt, cereal, cafetiere coffee, fresh eggs from the resident chickens, locally sourced bacon and local hand churned butter and fresh homemade bread.
We had been eating a lot of cooked breakfasts up to this point in our holiday, when we mentioned this in passing to Gill, she offered us continental breakfast and then pancakes; well Steph’s eyes lit up at the thought of pancakes, with jams, syrups and fresh fruit.
Overall this is a fantastic little B&B, comfortable bed, great views and nice food.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jupp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#6 of 25 in Tavistock
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonwood Barton B and B
Wonwood Barton B and B
#5 of 25 in Tavistock
85 reviews
5.9 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: | Near Lamerton Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledown Cottage holiday let (formerly Appledown House B&B) is set in the rolling Devon countryside, yet only 3.5 Miles from Tavistock on the edge of Dartmoor. The cottage comprises a twin/superking bedroom with light and airy en-suite bathroom (shower), sitting room with sofabed for additional guests*, small conservatory dining area with superb views across the outdoor pool**, garden and stunning countryside towards Dartmoor. The kitchen is well-equipped with a free-standing electric hob, full size fitted oven, free-standing microwave and fitted fridge. All china, glassware, crockery, cooking utensils etc included along with crisp, fresh bed linen, soft white fluffy towels and kitchen towels & teatowels. There is a 32" TV in the sitting room and a wall-mounted TV in the bedroom. Both are remote control with freeview and integrated DVD players. Free wi-fi is available. We offer an indulgent, full English breakfast (should you wish us to cook for you) served in our dining room, using fresh, free-range eggs from the local farm along with locally sourced sausages and bacon, home made bread and yoghurt and golden butter straight from the farm (there is an additional charge for breakfast). A warm welcome awaits you to our stress-free haven! *Guests using the sofabed have access to the bathroom via a 'JacknJill' door system (with appropriate locks). **Outdoor pool available during summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Appledown House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledown House Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing