We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very special place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is a very special place.”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I have stayed with Dave & Gil twice now. On both occasions this lovely couple have made us very welcome into their house. The 'garden room' has the advantage of a lovely view across the Devon countryside, even when you lay in bed! And each morning you are treated to Dave's full English breakfast, which is enough to set you up for the day, even if you intend walking the highways and byways.
We are looking forward to staying with Gil and Dave the early part of next summer, can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Appledown House and Dave and Gill were really hospitable and could not do enough to make sure our stay was really enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate and could be adjoining which was great for us and our two children. Lovely bathrooms and plenty of hot water! The swimming pool was an extra bit of luxury. We enjoyed a yummy breakfast in the morning and it was a great start to our holiday - we hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledownhouse, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we very much appreciate your taking the time and trouble to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Appledown House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The service was faultless, the owner was extremely friendly. The room we stayed in overlooked the back garden with a view of the swimming pool and the rolling hills of Devon. There was a small conservatory at the front of the room with table & chairs where you could sit & watch the sun go down. The bed was enormous, wish mine at home was as comfortable!!! Everything was spotless. This B&B is situated just outside of Tavistock and is handy for anyone wishing to visit Devon or Cornwall. There was nothing I disliked about it and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his full english breakfast. You could have chosen anything for breakfast and as they have chickens you know the eggs are free range and fresh. At £69 with everything included it offered good value as well.

Room Tip: I would ask for the room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledownhouse, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us that people take the time and trouble to leave a review and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Appledown House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A wonderful place, with breath-taking views, ideal to spend a relaxing few days. Superior accomodation was excellent, as was the breakfast, with home-layed eggs and home-made bread.
Nothing was too much trouble and the swimming pool was inviting.
We will definately return.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the superior room with the conservatory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I had a lovely time at Appledown House, it has got everything, stunning views, perfect hosts, a lovely room and delicious food. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. Perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

stunning views, quiet and comfortable in detached single storey rooms so that you can come and go without disturbing anyone. Easy parking and real country feel with fresh milk delivered for your early morning tea. Free range chickens enjoy your crusts and supply eggs for your breakfast. Genial hosts Gil and Dave will make you very welcome. Good local pub with great food and local garage sells newspapers and acts as local shop. Ideal location for Dartmoor and Tamar valley.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcquarrievideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay, so much so that we shall be back as soon as possible.
Great style throughout the house and breakfasts were wonderful. Loved the chickens.

Room Tip: Summer by the pool would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodovis Park
Woodovis Park
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
5.9 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: | Near Lamerton Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledown Cottage holiday let (formerly Appledown House B&B) is set in the rolling Devon countryside, yet only 3.5 Miles from Tavistock on the edge of Dartmoor. The cottage comprises a twin/superking bedroom with light and airy en-suite bathroom (shower), sitting room with sofabed for additional guests*, small conservatory dining area with superb views across the outdoor pool**, garden and stunning countryside towards Dartmoor. The kitchen is well-equipped with a free-standing electric hob, full size fitted oven, free-standing microwave and fitted fridge. All china, glassware, crockery, cooking utensils etc included along with crisp, fresh bed linen, soft white fluffy towels and kitchen towels & teatowels. There is a 32" TV in the sitting room and a wall-mounted TV in the bedroom. Both are remote control with freeview and integrated DVD players. Free wi-fi is available. We offer an indulgent, full English breakfast (should you wish us to cook for you) served in our dining room, using fresh, free-range eggs from the local farm along with locally sourced sausages and bacon, home made bread and yoghurt and golden butter straight from the farm (there is an additional charge for breakfast). A warm welcome awaits you to our stress-free haven! *Guests using the sofabed have access to the bathroom via a 'JacknJill' door system (with appropriate locks). **Outdoor pool available during summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Appledown House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledown House Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing