We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and we will go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I had a lovely time at Appledown House, it has got everything, stunning views, perfect hosts, a lovely room and delicious food. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. Perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

stunning views, quiet and comfortable in detached single storey rooms so that you can come and go without disturbing anyone. Easy parking and real country feel with fresh milk delivered for your early morning tea. Free range chickens enjoy your crusts and supply eggs for your breakfast. Genial hosts Gil and Dave will make you very welcome. Good local pub with great food and local garage sells newspapers and acts as local shop. Ideal location for Dartmoor and Tamar valley.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcquarrievideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay, so much so that we shall be back as soon as possible.
Great style throughout the house and breakfasts were wonderful. Loved the chickens.

Room Tip: Summer by the pool would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Spur of the moment stopover and we were not disappointed. Very comfortable accommodation, a great breakfast and attentive hosts made for a very relaxing stay during a hectic cycling mini-break. The fresh eggs were fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyanddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Appledown has absolutely beautiful accommodation and stunning countryside views, the room was immaculate and has everything you need, very comfortable and is beautifully finished. Breakfast is great, lovely homemade bread and fresh eggs, delicious! Gil & Dave are incredibly welcoming and make you feel at home and relaxed immediately, overall fantastic stay and would highly recommend, defiantly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaDawnMurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our stayed in Appledown House, Gill made us feel very welcomed and was very attentive. The room was clean and fresh with all the commodities you will expect, it had little details that made it a very nice place to stay, like fresh milk for you tea, nicely decorated, comfortable bed, etc..., The food (Breakfast) very tasty, it was a nice english breakfast with free range eggs the works and served in a room with a bay window facing to the swimming pool and the lovely countryside.
Appledown is situated about 3.5 miles from Tavistock very accessible and easy to find I will highly recommend it to anybody!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elbandidonumero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My partner and I stayed with Gil and Dave for 3 nights in the superior room. We can not recommend Appledown house highly enough. The room with its own conservatory was stunning, very clean, well thought out and lovely and relaxing.Tea and biscuits in the conservatory with the views of dartmoor were just fantastic. The breakfast was out of this world ! The homemade bread is a must try and the eggs were fresh each morning.nothing was too much trouble .I even got flowers on my birthday and a birthday card, and it was these little touches that really made our visit. We will definitley be staying at Appldown house again..You will need a car as there is nowhere close to eat in the evenings.and that is the only bad thing we could say ..10 out of 10..Thank you gil and Dave for looking after us so well..see you again ....Nikki and Dave

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
3.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#5 of 25 in Tavistock
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beera Farmhouse
Beera Farmhouse
#9 of 25 in Tavistock
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonwood Barton B and B
Wonwood Barton B and B
#6 of 25 in Tavistock
89 reviews
5.9 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Near Lamerton Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: $32 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledown Cottage holiday let (formerly Appledown House B&B) is set in the rolling Devon countryside, yet only 3.5 Miles from Tavistock on the edge of Dartmoor. The cottage comprises a twin/superking bedroom with light and airy en-suite bathroom (shower), sitting room with sofabed for additional guests*, small conservatory dining area with superb views across the outdoor pool**, garden and stunning countryside towards Dartmoor. The kitchen is well-equipped with a free-standing electric hob, full size fitted oven, free-standing microwave and fitted fridge. All china, glassware, crockery, cooking utensils etc included along with crisp, fresh bed linen, soft white fluffy towels and kitchen towels & teatowels. There is a 32" TV in the sitting room and a wall-mounted TV in the bedroom. Both are remote control with freeview and integrated DVD players. Free wi-fi is available. We offer an indulgent, full English breakfast (should you wish us to cook for you) served in our dining room, using fresh, free-range eggs from the local farm along with locally sourced sausages and bacon, home made bread and yoghurt and golden butter straight from the farm (there is an additional charge for breakfast). A warm welcome awaits you to our stress-free haven! *Guests using the sofabed have access to the bathroom via a 'JacknJill' door system (with appropriate locks). **Outdoor pool available during summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appledown House Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing