We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic site”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a lovely stay - the camping pod was spacious and very clean, the facilities are fantastic (shower block/dishwashing etc) and there's a great play area for children. We loved the bar (loads of toys and games, and good food) and the staff were all lovely. The beautiful setting of Dartmoor speaks for itself. Thoroughly recommended, even by my camping-hating husband (we'll go for a caravan next time!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie-purelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the review. Well done for convincing your camping hating husband to try a pod. They are great as a compromise for those that love camping and those that are not quite so enthusiastic. You still have the sense of being close to nature but with the comfort of a cosy wooden tent! We look forward to you trying one of our caravans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    57
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
190
248
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for four nights this August. Toilets and showers are kept impeccably clean, there's plenty of hot water and the showers are free. There's also a family bathroom for toddlers that don't enjoy the showers.

There's a bar on site which serves food between 19:00 and 21:00 which has a games room as well as plenty of board games and toys to keep the kids occupied in the evening.

Dartmoor is 30 seconds away, Tavistock is 5 minutes, Plymouth is 20 minutes and the beach (Looe) is 40 minutes away.

All in all a fantastic stay at a site with great facilities and in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazMan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently been to Langstone and it was brilliant. We stayed in a camping pod which were excellent - just as well as it rained whilst we were there.

Staff were lovely (northern couple from Blackburn).

The shower block is the best I have ever been to on a campsite.

One small gripe - the bar is only open until 9/9.30 but you can't have everything hey?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review Langstone Manor Park - glad to hear you were well looked after by David & Lynne. Just to note that the bar is open till 10.30pm for last drink orders and till 9pm for food orders in the summer school holidays so I hope you didn't miss out on a nightcap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a camping Pod for one night at Langstone Manor. I don't believe you could find a campsite that is any better than this one.
The bathroom and shower facilities are brand new so they were exceptional and a pleasure to use.
Our camping pod was also new and exceptionally clean, warm, comfortable and inviting.
We ate our dinner at the onsite pub and were served delicious and hearty meals quickly, in a warm and welcoming environment.
The service at Langstone Manor was also exceptional with the owners going far out of their way to help us find some way of blowing up our air mattress, and in the end lending us their own air mattress!
The location in Tavistock is beautiful and with such wonderful countryside and walks to go on from the campsite there is plenty to do.
From what I could see there were pitches available for tents, caravans, static caravans and camping pods.
Absolutely wonderful campsite. Thanks for the lovely stay (wish it was for longer!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly12955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have stayed at Langstone Manor on a number of occasions and have always thouroughly enjoyed our visits. Our most recent stay was in the cottage which was impaccably maintained. On previous visits, we have also stayed in the static caravans which are also spotless, well equipped and well maintained.

The facilities are excellent and the recent upgrades to the shower/toliet block are really impressive. It is clear that the owners Jane and David are eager to ensure customer satisfaction: this enthusiasm is also evident in the rest of the staff.

Langstone Manor is in a fantastic location for exploring Devon and Cornwall. It is also ideal for walks on Dartmoor. I'm sure we will be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We rely on customers returning to us so it's good to hear we're doing the right thing! Dave is almost out of winter projects now - so if you have any suggestions please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I went on a mountain biking camping break. This site is excellently placed for the Tors. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite. The facilities are immaculately clean and of a very high standard. It is a very peaceful site which gives the impression of being in the middle of nowhere but you are only a couple of miles from Tavistock which has plenty of supermarkets etc. The site is not too large, so it has a very comfortable feel to it. The pitches are a good size. We had a large 4man tent with a porch, the car, a picnic bench and there was plenty of room to spare on our pitch. Chickens roam freely around the tents. There was free use of a hose available to wash the bikes off. There is a bar on site which shuts at 2230hours which stops any rowdy campers. We enjoyed playing poole in the games room. Karen, member of staff, at the site also recommended the nearby Elephants Nest public house. It is the best pub food I have ever eaten! Lydford Gorge is also nearby and beautiful. Well worth a visit.

I camp a reasonable amount within the UK. I was very pleased with this campsite. I would say it is one of the best I have stayed in. If you enjoy the outdoors then this campsite is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many thanks for the review - you describe Langstone Manor to a T, the site is in a great location and so all we have to do keep providing a good standard of accommodation and facilities which we all work hard to maintain. Glad to hear that you found some good mountain bike tracks on Dartmoor and the surrounding area. We hope you return soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padstow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just recently spent 2 more occasions at Langstone, camping with great access to the moor.
Once again Karen and all the staff were superb. The new shower and toilet block are without doubt the best any site can offer on Dartmoor.
The Manor house for food and drink is great with the best curry's outside of any Indian restaurant !
I know when i speak for all Dartmoor Expedition Assessor's that use the site that when we are there we get superbly looked after.
Put simply, great staff, great site,great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadstowPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
628 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
377 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages

Property: Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Address: Moortown | Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langstone Manor Park sits on Dartmoor National Park just outside the town of Tavistock. Established over 60 years the park offers 5 star service and facilities with a perfect quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing