We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:15 AM - 5:15 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveler rating
921
273
76
37
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
273
76
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheffield park horsted keynes golden arrow engine sheds east grinstead flying scotsman rolling stock station staff pullman dining sunday lunch sussex countryside return journey buffet car signal box afternoon tea waiting room special occasion
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited the Bluebell Railway with our two granddaughters aged six and a half and three and a half at half term. Caught the train at East Grinstead to Sheffield Park. They loved the carriage which reminded them of the 'Hogwarts Express' from Harry Potter! At Sheffield Park visited the new Steam Works exhibition and had something to eat in the café. Caught the last train back to East Grinstead with two tired but happy girls! Staff charming and helpful as ever.

Thank silversurfer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited the Bluebell Railway over half-term with my two granddaughters aged 6 and 3. They loved the trip from East Grinstead especially the 'Harry Potter' (in their words) lookalike train carriage! They also loved the new 'Steam works' exhibition at Sheffield Park Station. Had something to eat in the café at Sheffield Park. All the staff charming as always. Two tired and happy girls!

Thank silversurfer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We choose the bluebell railway as my son loved trains. We were so excited but the experience was absolutely horrible! We were cramped into a carriage despite buying 3 tickets they had over booked the carriage. I booked my son a boy ticket however he received a crap pink teddy from the pound store. We thought the gift was a joke but unfortunately it wasn't. When we got to santa the room was so dark we couldn't take photos and we got rushed out so quickly.. on the way back a man working on the train was coming through with a trolley. I went to move out of his way but couldn't move very fast as I was heavily pregnant. He ended up knocking me over and just walked off. I wrote a complaint to bluebell and they didn't even bother to write back or apologise. I found the staff extremely rude and the experience extremely exspensive for what you get.

3  Thank Kpriisnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluebell_Railway, Manager at Bluebell Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments, Kpriinsk, and for your visit to the Bluebell Railway.

It is unclear when you visited, as your review was posted eleven months after we last ran a Santa Special; our 2018 trains start again in just a few short weeks. It is nevertheless disappointing to read of your disappointment when you visited.

Any issues surrounding seat allocation or overbooking of compartments are best dealt with on the day, as we always ensure we have spare seats to allow for such occurrences. Similarly, whilst we cannot guarantee to provide the perfect present for every child, any concerns over the gift received are best dealt with on the day. We are nevertheless sorry that the seat allocation and gift did not meet your expectations.

We were not made aware of any issues surrounding the levels of lighting in Santa's Grotto. We regret that you felt rushed, however we hope you will understand that for the sake of all of our passengers we do have to keep to our published timetable.

Please accept our sincere apologies if you were knocked over on the day or have not received a response to your complaint. We would nevertheless like to reassure you that we monitor all of the feedback we receive, and all comments are taken into consideration to ensure that we can enhance the experience we offer to our passengers.

With best wishes from all at the Bluebell Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Bluebell Railway and took a trip on the steam train in compartment coach dating back to the turn of the century. Loved the slow regular clicker clack over the rail joints as the steam train travelled from Sheffield Park to East Grinstead. over a viaduct with great views and through a tunnel, which really gives the atmosphere of the railways in times gone by as the steam locomotive is climbing a gradient on the way to East Grinstead. Great to stop off at Horsted Keynes and see the work on restoring vintage coaches. Will return again soon

1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful food and fascinating location for midday meals or snacks. Best cheese scones I have ever tasted.

Thank Wander43602999656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited the Bluebell Railway as a group of over 20 elderly people and had a great trip on a steam train. All the volunteers were very good, helpful and friendly. The actual train trip was brilliant and our group enjoyed it very much. It was a busy day and there was a birthday celebration going on at the same time. This made the cafeteria quite busy and it was a little difficult to find our group places to sit to have a light lunch. The food was good but the space is small. Whilst everyone was very helpful and did their very best for our group, I do think the access to the other platform for an elderly group like ours was a bit challenging. Many had mobility aids and we had a couple of wheelchairs which took a time and effort to cross the line. Apart from that, a great day out and well worth a visit. Thank you to all the volunteers who helped us!

Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky to be passengers on an afternoon trip on the famed Pacific Class locomotive 60009 - 'Union of South Africa' - on the Bluebell Railway from Sheffield Park Station to East Grinstead and back. This short excursion was part of the loco's farewell tour of Britain before she is retired off to the York Railway Museum - so, it was a lovely and somewhat melancholic trip as the beautiful engine steamed her goodbyes. The Bluebell Railway is set deep within the rolling and verdant countryside of Sussex, and if it looks familiar it's due to the fact that this steam railway is frequently used for filming period pieces. Sheffield Park Station is lovely - full of character and lovingly maintained by the volunteers who make the Bluebell Railway what it is today. Lots of people - railway buffs, families, experts and novices - had come out to see this fantastic machine make its swansong...and she didn't disappoint. The Union of South Africa is a truly beautiful and awe-inspiring giant of the steam age. Sleek, streamlined, powerful and seductive, she has to be seen to be believed.

Thank Jungleride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took a large group of UK and foreign visitors on the Bluebell for a light lunch, to experience rail travel from yesteryear and to see the Sussex countryside. If you are arranging an event and want to do something really different, this is terrific fun and was enjoyed by all our group.

Thank Protraveller5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully maintained steam engines, pulling equally beautiful rolling stock through the pretty Sussex countryside. Period stations to visit. Each a gem. Plenty to see on a great day out.

Thank Dam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fantastic day out for all the family. Beautifully preserved and upkept steam locomotives and period rolling stock, travelling through lovely rolling countryside and stopping at pretty little stations, all kept to their individual periods. (East Grinstead connects with the mainline, so is a disappointing modern platform though). Worth stopping at all the staations and making a day of it though, as there is plenty of interest to see.

Thank Dam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews