We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but atmosphere becoming less welcoming”
Review of THE HURSTWOOD

THE HURSTWOOD
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Uckfield
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent but atmosphere becoming less welcoming”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I go to the Hurstwood often. Sometimes we go to eat and sometimes we USED to go just for a drink...and then get tempted by the menu and end up eating there on the spur of the moment.
The food is always absolutely superb, the service usually very good, and the prices are fair for the quality of the food.
A year or so ago the atmosphere in the pub was very welcoming; it was furnished with a nice variety of tables for dining, tablets that suited a drink and a chat, easy chairs a nd a cuddly sofa by the fire.
BUT on the last two occasions we visited, there was change afoot. Gone are the sofa and the chairs, gone the cosy atmosphere and the touch of eclectic bric-a-brac that made the pub feel so easy and yet impecably furnished.
Tables are now arranged in almost miltary order, the atmosphere is uninviting and more functional, and it feels more like all the other generic bistro pubs in the area.
I can only suppose that the owners have decided that they want to squeeze as many bums on seats as they can, but for my husband and I, this has knocked the Hurstwood of our 'favorite ever pub' pedestal.
No doubt will still go there for the food from time to time, but never at busy times of the week because you'd be in danger of feeling you had no personal space whatsoever while you ate.
What a shame that when a thing is perfect, it has to be spoilt.
We are embarking on a search for a 'new' favorite pub.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    73
    22
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food great pub”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely pub service and food. A bit expensive for everyday eating. We like to go every few months. Nice country village pub location and pleasant landlady.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The best food I've eaten without a michelin star!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Put simply the food at this fantastic pub is nothing short of amazing!
Yes it might appear pricey but when you see the very generous portion sizes and taste the incredible flavours you will actually think you should be paying them more.
As for service, I have no complaints. All staff are extremely friendly and professional, we certainly didn't experience any slow or sloppy service.
A truly fantastic place if you want top quality food in a lovely relaxed atmosphere, but book as it gets really busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First: the pub is not in Uckfield, as TripAdvisor wants us to believe, but in High Hurstwood. So don't go to Uckfield. Coming from Uckfield or Crowborough along the A26, the village is signposted and the road leads past the pub. Second: parking facilities are not good.
But once you found the pub and a place for your car, you'll enjoy it. Very decent food (I had excellent mussels) and good local beers. It's not cheap and service is not the speediest, but the waitress William T had, was either not on duty, or she had an off day when W.T. was there.
I agree that unattentive staff is killing for a place like this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank betseytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pet Hates”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Pets do not seem to me appropriate company in aspirational restaurants, at least not when audible. Lunch was marred by constant yapping, apparently uncontrolled. This may not be the restaurant's fault alone but surely some efforts should be made on behalf of other customers.
Perhaps this is trivial so let us move on to an even bigger pet hate: service. Here is a restaurant which clearly has claims to success. The menu is interesting and the cooking lives up to it. But this is not enough, when prices justified by the quality of the meal are let down by lack of service. Specifically: no menu was offered to us even when we sais we wanted to eat. No table was laid for us until we demanded it just before the meal arrived. We were not asked how the food was; nor offered a second drink, even with glasses empty for much of the meal. Dishes were not cleared; and I had to go to the bar to seek the bill. The bar/waiting staff were sloppy, casual and inattentive - amateur. While we were there, we witnessed another party arrive, which included a very lame member. They had rung ahead to reserve a particular table, accessible to this diner. This had been let go to someone else; and they were told that reserving a particular table was not doable. This is dreadful service. We really enjoyed the dishes we had but will not go back because bad service makes bad value. We would be barking mad to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE HURSTWOOD also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to THE HURSTWOOD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing