We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Evening”
Review of Buxted Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buxted Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Once again we were so well looked after at this lovely grand hotel in Uckfield. The Hotel staff are the key to a perfect stay .Nothing is too much trouble and their attention to detail is probably the best you will ever come across anywhere in Uk and Europe,(although all Hand Picked hotels we have stayed in seem to be spot on with their staff training!).Every member of staff is really friendly without exception.
The rooms are spotless with flat screen TV and tea /coffee facilities as well as a lovely crisp white dressing gown. The grounds provide beautiful views and a gentle walk if you want one.
I recommend their Gourmet evening as they are extremely good value for money and your stay overnight is included!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens or upgrade if you can afford it, some of the upgraded rooms a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay on our Gourmet Package.

We are very fortunate at Buxted that many of our team have been with us for years and service and hospitality are just so natural for them. I will certainly pass on your praise.

I look forward to maybe welcoming you on our next gourmet evening on the 29th September celebrating Laurent Perrier Champagne!

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
There are newer reviews for Buxted Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

No compliants but I would suggest that the price is around £50 too expensive. We paid £165 for our stay inc breakfast. The staff are very helpful and professional. The grounds are sensational (312 acres). The bar is expensive on certain things such as wine but beer is reasonable. We were present for a wedding and I have to say that the food was very good. All in all a lovely place to stay.

This would have been 5* had it not been for the price.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the ground floor. We liked it as it was quite and had a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevIn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay at Buxted Park Hotel.

I was naturally pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the food and team members to be very good. I fully appreciate your comments about pricing and hence we do provide a variety of rates throughout the week to suit all budgets, our bar does serve 35ml measures which are 10ml more than your high street establishment which is reflected in the cost.

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel with very helpful frendly staff. Breakfast was the best I have had by far. Looking forward to visiting again and bringing my family. Room was a good size and they had a turn down service which wasn't expected. The grounds though are amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay at Buxted Park Hotel.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that our breakfast was the best you ever had!

I will certainly convey your kind words to the team and on behalf of everyone at Buxted Park I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with your family.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night during the May bank holiday weekend to celebrate our 6th anniversary and everything was perfect. We booked the Champagne Getaway deal and stayed in a Junior Suite (Akhnaton), which was massive! There was an entrance hall which led to the bedroom with a seating area and a huge, luxurious bed. The bathroom was large and grand but it could do with some minor refurbishment. As it was a corner suite, we also had 2 views of the gardens and of the lake.

We had afternoon tea before we checked in which was delicious. We then hired a couple of bikes and went for a bike ride in the area. We decided to have our champagne at dinner which was not a problem. Canapes before dinner was a nice surprise and the rest of the meal was great (even for fussy eaters like my husband and I). There was a wedding going on and it was a little loud at night as our room was above the ballroom, however weddings are expected at such a pretty country hotel and this didn't bother us. The next morning, we decided to have breakfast in our room for a very reasonable £3 service charge. There was plenty of option to pick from, which was included in our rate.

We can't think of anything that would've made our stay any better than it was. The staff were extremely polite, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. It was the best hotel experience we have ever had. We don't know what the other rooms were like but we think the junior suite is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The junior suite is amazing and worth the price
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here as part of a hand picked group offer of champagne, cream tea, dinner, bed and breakfast to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Buxted Park is a lovely hotel, staff are friendly and nothing seems too much to ask. Room (20) was modern, clean and with a great outlook over the lawn. The grounds are wonderful and very quiet. If you're heading to Buxted in Wedding season it might be worth asking for a room well away from the orangery, it didn't worry us but some guests may be disturbed by the evening entertainment. Overall a prefect weekend break and highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LJ2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest

May I firstly congratulate you on your recent wedding anniversary.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that all aspects were fantastic. I know the team will be particularly proud to hear of your kind comments. As we only cater for 1 wedding a day this does allow us to minimise any noise concerns for our leisure guests.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Buxted Park (March 2013).

They made it a fantasic day for us, the service, food and organazation were second to none and nothing was too much bother.

The way the staff layed out the rooms made it for very easy flowing.

Special mention to Marc who was the icing on the cake.

One small point to mention is that the bar is very expensive, a pint is close to £9 as they put 2 bottles in the glass and charge for 2 bottles. Wine and spirits are also very expensive

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which was bigger than our house, amazing facilities
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigLingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly may I congratulate you on your recent wedding at Buxted Park.

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read the day was fantastic and that everything was perfect. I will certainly convey your kind words to Marc and the entire team.

We do have draught lager and bitter which is £4.10 per pint, yes if guests ask for a pint of becks this is more expensive as two bottles are used.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted hopefully for your anniversary.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were given a voucher to stay at the Buxted Park Hotel and thought we'd use it to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Although we live pretty close by, it's always lovely to be treated! I contacted the reservations department before our stay to inform them of my husbands wheat/gluten intolerance. We had afternoon tea upon arrival which was amazing and they catered to my husbands dietary requirements so well and explained everything they had prepared for him. They even provided gluten free canapes during our pre-dinner drinks and then gluten free bread during dinner. Breakfast was also superb with a great choice. The staff we had dealings with during meal times and on reception etc were all excellent - we both commented on how friendly and welcoming they all were which we really think makes a hotel stay special. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel if you want a relaxed stay with fantastic food! We made sure we had a good walk around the beautiful grounds and parkland to make ourselves feel better about all the food we'd consumed!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMRSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Buxted Park Hotel.

I was naturally very pleased to read the team looked after you and that your dietary requests were noted and delivered. I will certainly convey your kind words to the team and thank you on behalf of everyone at Buxted for your recommendation.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uckfield
3.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,215 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
16.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxted Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxted Park Hotel

Address: Buxted Park, Uckfield TN22 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Price Range: $143 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxted Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sussex, this magnificent Georgian Palladian mansion is set in 312 acres of superb parkland yet conveniently located only 24 miles from Gatwick Airport and 60 miles from Heathrow, with easy access to the M25 and London. The parkland features three lakes and is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a real feature for walkers and orienteers with walking maps available from reception.All of the guest bedrooms are finished to the highest standard with flat screen TV, DVD player and complimentary high speed internet. Feature rooms and suites have been carefully designed to blend Georgian styling with today's more contemporary comforts. A small fitness room is located in the hotel and in addition, guests are able to workout in the comfort and privacy of their hotel bedrooms with gym and yoga bags.The Dining Room has become a food destination accredited with 2 AA rosettes recognising the high standards of cuisine and offering the finest in regional produce and seasonal flavours. Regular special culinary events are held each month featuring gourmet, tribute and interactive experiences such as Cookery School. Enjoy nearby places of interest such as Brighton and Eastbourne only 20 miles away, Tunbridge Wells, Haywards Heath, East Grinstead and Lewes all on the hotel’s doorstep. Local attractions include Battle Abbey, Penshurst Place & Gardens, Seven Sisters, Sheffield Park Gardens and Bluebell Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buxted Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxted Hotel Park Uckfield
Hotel Buxted Park
Buxted Park Uckfield
Buxted Country House Park
Buxted Park Country House
Buxted Park Hotel East Sussex/Uckfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing