We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service for Special Occasion”
Review of Buxted Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buxted Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Service for Special Occasion”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My sister chose Buxted Park Hotel for her birthday celebration. We enjoyed private dining in the Library followed by overnight stays with breakfast for all guests. Three of us stayed for a second night enjoying afternoon tea and an evening meal on Sunday.

All members of staff we met were friendly and attentive and our varied requests over the course of the weekend were attended to most efficiently.

The food and wine were all of a very high standard and the "Sunday Night Club" leisure break represents excellent value. I have no hesitation in recommending Buxted Park to look after you for a special event.

It's worth noting that the small cinema can be made available to keep younger members of a party amused.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turleynodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor following your sisters birthday celebrations.

Our Sunday night package is excellent value and very popular, the cinema as you mentioned is a fantastic facility to keep all ages occupied.

I was pleased to read the team members were friendly and attentive and looked after you all over the weekend.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    257
    85
    41
    13
See reviews for
289
744
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As a guest for a wedding, impressed with staff, very helpful, unfortunately signs of neglect of this great building, paint peeling from walls in one of the suites & outside plaster Brocken from walls..surely a little money spent on appearance would go along way....we had a great time anyway.......but if you charge premium prices, you need a premium property!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntElvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Congratulations on being our 300th reviewer. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great time. We are always focused on the maintenance of the hotel and are committed to improving at every opportunity indeed the outside of the hotel has been recently re-rendered and due to be painted once this ready.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Buxted Park on Sunday 24th March for their Gourmet Night which is a set menu. We had a wonderful meal, I am a vegetarian and was extremely well catered for, the Chef made a special dish for each of my courses (there were 6). The staff were so professional making you feel special and at the same time injecting some fun into our evening. The surroundings are beautiful and Buxted is the ideal place to get away from it all and relax. Our room was very comfortable with beautiful furniture and a wonderful outlook onto the fields. we could have stayed there for a long time. The gardens are lovely with a lot of history attached to them and a walk in the summer months is beautiful. A real gem of a place. Not always within everyone's budget but highly recommended for a real treat or special occasion.

Room Tip: We have stayed before and therefore been in a few of the rooms. They are all very very nice and luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosham186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place both pictures and a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed one of our popular Gourmet nights and that the team looked after you so well.

The estate is stunning throughout the year and we are now fully into lambing season which is always popular for guests.

On behalf of everyone at Buxted Park may I thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We did not stay at the Hotel but went for afternoon tea as a birthday treat for my Mother. From the moment we arrived at this lovely hotel with beautiful grounds, until we left the staff could not have been more helpful. We sat in a tranquil lounge with huge log fire. To drink there was a large selection of teas presented in a lovely wooden box (for us to enjoy the aroma & make our choice), a selection of different coffees and hot chocolate! There was a good choice of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Everything was very fresh. The lemon curd was wonderful on the scones. I had asked whether the chef would be able to make meringues, and to my Mother's delight they were included in the imaginative section of cakes & desserts.
I have already recommended the hotel to friends and I plan to return. Thank you Buxted Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your tremendous review on Trip Advisor following your afternoon tea.

May I extend my best wishes to your mother on her recent birthday.

There is no finer place for afternoon tea than the coat of arms lounge at Buxted and we regularly receive praise for our offering. I will certainly convey your kind words to all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park maybe for another celebration!

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night say for a wedding and I have to say the staff really made it for us.
The building is beautiful and full of character- the grounds looked stunning although it was too cold for us to venture any further and explore!
We had a family room which was separated in to 2 by a set of double doors - this was perfect as we were with the children but had just a bit of privacy. The room had 2 TV's and DVD's so one for us and one for the children. There is a DVD list you can order to your room which is a nice touch. The only downside of our room was the view as it looked out on to a flat roof with what looked like the air con system- not a massive issue though as we didn't spend much time in our room
Our beds were turned down on Saturday night before we returned to our room.
Breakfast was good with a selection of cooked items. Our youngest daughter was very happy when a member of staff offered her own pot of hot chocolate to go with her breakfast.
The staff were very attentive and I think this is crucial when you are spending this kind of money for a night. They gave the impression that nothing was too much of a problem and this ensured we felt very comfortable for our stay. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review following your stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you and the family thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the children took advantage of our DVD set up. Hot chocolate is definitely the order of the day in this cold weather and rightly so we like to treat everyone very special.

Thank you for your recommendation and on behalf of the team I look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park Hotel.

Best wishes


Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great country house in lovely settings not too far off the main roads. Got the B&B deal with Champagne & dinner which was good value. Stayed in a Classic room which was nicely appointed but may be noisy if you are a light sleeper. Had drinks in the crystal bar then the set menu dinner at the restaurant later. Food was great but the standout is the service you receive which is impeccable- full credit to Marc & the team. Breakfast was too to the same high standard. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberleyadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you took advantage of our dinner bed and breakfast rate with a glass of Champagne included.

I will certainly relay your kind words to the team highlighting Marc.

Thank you for your recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farleigh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our second visit to Buxted Park and again we were impressed with the attentive and friendly staff that made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, professional but with a laid back approach. Dinner was fantastic as is their choice of wines, a recommended experience from start to finish and the type of dinning that contributes towards making the weekend at Buxted Park special.

We had a gorgeous suite with fantastic views and a bed so comfortable that you found it hard to leave once in it! Make sure you take a walk around the estate after breakfast and visit the church, if you don't have your own wellies and you will need them, the hotel will lend you some.

A great hotel to be looked after, relax and get away from it all, infact once you arrive, you just switch off, it was a well needed break away.

It is very clear that the Manager Jonathan Owen sets the high standards here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Buxted Park.

I was pleased to read that you received our customary warm welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for the team.

Our suites are indeed very special with panoramic views across the estate from all. Our wellies are very popular as you cannot leave Buxted without a stroll around the deer park.

I will certainly convey your kind words to Neil my head chef with regards to your evening meal and on behalf of everyone at the hotel it was a pleasure looking after you both and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when you will receive our very best attention.

Best wishes


Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uckfield
3.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
16.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxted Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxted Park Hotel

Property: Buxted Park Hotel
Address: Buxted Park, Uckfield TN22 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxted Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sussex, this magnificent Georgian Palladian mansion is set in 312 acres of superb parkland yet conveniently located only 24 miles from Gatwick Airport and 60 miles from Heathrow, with easy access to the M25 and London. The parkland features three lakes and is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a real feature for walkers and orienteers with walking maps available from reception.All of the guest bedrooms are finished to the highest standard with flat screen TV, DVD player and complimentary high speed internet. Feature rooms and suites have been carefully designed to blend Georgian styling with today's more contemporary comforts. A small fitness room is located in the hotel and in addition, guests are able to workout in the comfort and privacy of their hotel bedrooms with gym and yoga bags.The Dining Room has become a food destination accredited with 2 AA rosettes recognising the high standards of cuisine and offering the finest in regional produce and seasonal flavours. Regular special culinary events are held each month featuring gourmet, tribute and interactive experiences such as Cookery School. Enjoy nearby places of interest such as Brighton and Eastbourne only 20 miles away, Tunbridge Wells, Haywards Heath, East Grinstead and Lewes all on the hotel’s doorstep. Local attractions include Battle Abbey, Penshurst Place & Gardens, Seven Sisters, Sheffield Park Gardens and Bluebell Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Buxted Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxted Hotel Park Uckfield
Hotel Buxted Park
Buxted Park Uckfield
Buxted Country House Park
Buxted Park Country House
Buxted Park Hotel East Sussex/Uckfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing