We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buxted Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buxted Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed early March, myself and girlfriend. Deal was bed and breakfast along with a three course meal.

Grounds: Grounds seemed well maintained. Good for a nice stroll but pond at the bottom of the hotel. Away from any major roads so was very quiet.

Rooms: Rooms have good decor, walls are a little thin. Double room is a bit on the small side, a return trip would definitely involve a room upgrade. Selection of dvds was a nice touch.

Afternoon Tea: No complaints, service was very good. Tea room was very nice, good view of the grounds from where we were sitting.

Evening meal: Paid for 'set menu', having eaten in some good restaurants in London the food was very good. Very extensive wine list, paid £30 for a bottle of white which was worth every penny.

Breakfast: Buffet style but there was plenty of sausage, bacon, eggs beans, cereals, toasts etc. Plus it was served in a 'wedding' style way rather than a 'canteen' queue type scenario.

Overall this hotel has many things going for it in my opinion; staff, food, rooms and grounds are very good.

Noticed a few people moaning about price. Prices are no different to that of London if not a little bit cheaper.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for something above a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our food offering to be plentiful. I will certainly convey your kind words to the team in our monthly departmental meetings.

On behalf of everyone at Buxted we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    252
    83
    40
    13
See reviews for
283
726
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, GB
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel. Its not the first of this group I have stayed in but it was the best. The staff are great and friendly and nothing is too much for them but they make you feel very relaxed. The hotel grounds are fantastic and had it not been raining would have been a pleasure to have stroll.
It is well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Buxted Park Hotel

Your endorsement and recommendation is really appreciated and recognises the hard work that the team go to in order to make our guests stay extra special.

Strolling around the hotel grounds is a must and hopefully the weather will be improving to allow guests to enjoy our walking routes around the 312 acre estate.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here for a long weekend and overall were impressed.

Unfortunately the weather was horrendous pretty much all weekend so we didnt move much, but that didnt blunt our enjoyment of the hotel and facilities. The plusses were definitely the food (we got a deal whereby both brekkie and dinner were included) which was great, the staff who all (with a couple of exceptions) were very attentive and engaging, and the room which although a little on the small side was fine. If I were to be critical then the building itself is a little tired in places (stained carpets, paint flaking off, dated decor) and could use a bit of TLC. Also it is very much a wedding hotel and on the saturday night we were there a wedding party was taking place. Given the layout they did separate the wedding people from the other guests as much as poss but it wasnt quite the serene experience of the preceeding evening.

I would definitely recommend this place for a weekend away, especially if the weather is good because the setting is gorgeous and there are extensive walking/hiking opportunities around. If you can do it through a deal with secret escapes or on the hand picked hotel website itself then all the better.

By the way well done to the GM who managed the "lack of red bull" issue immaculately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

I have unfortunately not mastered controlling the weather as yet but I will preserver with this to ensure the sun is always shining at Buxted Park!

Our inclusive packages are very popular and are great value for money. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the service and food and that the team looked after you well.

I do remember our conversation with regards to serving of Red Bull and I am happy that you understood my reasons.

On behalf of all the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future when I can assure you of our best attention

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

For our latest offers and events be sure to follow us on @buxtedparkhotel and facebook.buxted@handpicked.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend for my sister's 50th birthday and it could not have been better. The staff were lovely, particularly the person who looked after our party (didn't get his name). They even came in and sang Happy Birthday which was a lovely touch. The rooms are beautiful, elegant and luxurious and the grounds are fabulous. Breakfast was a definite highpoint in gorgeous surroundings. The whole weekend was memorable for all the right reasons and I will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alp1659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

Please pass on my congratulations to your sister for her recent birthday!

I was delighted to read that the team looked after you well and that their rendition of Happy Birthday was well received.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and one that we review regularly to ensure our A la Carte offering is the best in the area!

On behalf of all the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future when I can assure you of our best attention

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Maybe it was the other reviews that raised my expectations but whilst this was a nice place it wasn't particularly memorable. Superior room very comfortable and quiet although they were painting (gloss) in the corridor and we could smell the fumes in our room. Crystal bar very nice and good ambience ate lunch in here both days, evenings meal at the restaurant was very good although scallops starter was only just warm enough, mains both excellent and a superb English cheeseboard. Ala carte breakfast was very good however on the Sunday morning it was a buffet breakfast which felt mass catered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food to be excellent.

At Buxted Park I am committed to maintaining the presentation of the hotel and with regret sometimes our maintenance is front of house, I can assure you we always finish the work before guests arrive and never sell bedrooms which have been painted that day.

I was most concerned to read you had a buffet style breakfast on the Sunday as our policy is an A La Carte menu for the most important meal of the day. I will be speaking with my food and beverage management team to understand how and why this occurred.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first stay at buxted park, for my husbands birthday. The staff where all very helpful especially the bar staff Rob could not do enough, we had the afternoon tea and it was exceptional, dinner in the evening was outstanding the hotel had even put a card on the table, lovely touch. Would defenatly return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkij27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your tremendous review on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of all the team may I say how thrilled we are to read about your stay and I know Rob was particularly proud to read your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

amazing staff and amazing grounds, our room was beautiful, breakfast was great, we had a lovely stay, highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxed escape. The views from our suite, ashkahn suite? not entirely sure that is the correct spelling, were phenomenal, the room was amazing, room service however slightly slower that expected but it was fairly busy. The bathroom was luxurious, we loved our stay here and look forward to staying once again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Buxted Park Hotel.

The Akhnaton Suite is truly special with stunning views out onto the estate.
On behalf of all the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uckfield
3.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.3 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
16.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxted Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxted Park Hotel

Property: Buxted Park Hotel
Address: Buxted Park, Uckfield TN22 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxted Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sussex, this magnificent Georgian Palladian mansion is set in 312 acres of superb parkland yet conveniently located only 24 miles from Gatwick Airport and 60 miles from Heathrow, with easy access to the M25 and London. The parkland features three lakes and is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a real feature for walkers and orienteers with walking maps available from reception.All of the guest bedrooms are finished to the highest standard with flat screen TV, DVD player and complimentary high speed internet. Feature rooms and suites have been carefully designed to blend Georgian styling with today's more contemporary comforts. A small fitness room is located in the hotel and in addition, guests are able to workout in the comfort and privacy of their hotel bedrooms with gym and yoga bags.The Dining Room has become a food destination accredited with 2 AA rosettes recognising the high standards of cuisine and offering the finest in regional produce and seasonal flavours. Regular special culinary events are held each month featuring gourmet, tribute and interactive experiences such as Cookery School. Enjoy nearby places of interest such as Brighton and Eastbourne only 20 miles away, Tunbridge Wells, Haywards Heath, East Grinstead and Lewes all on the hotel’s doorstep. Local attractions include Battle Abbey, Penshurst Place & Gardens, Seven Sisters, Sheffield Park Gardens and Bluebell Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Buxted Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxted Hotel Park Uckfield
Hotel Buxted Park
Buxted Country House Park
Buxted Park Uckfield
Buxted Park Country House
Buxted Park Hotel East Sussex/Uckfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing