We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay of pure indulgencence”
Review of Buxted Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buxted Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

my husband and i got married at buxted park in november 2011 and so we thought it would be lovely to return to buxted for our year anniversay. we were welcomed by a very friendly and caring lady at reception and our room was lovely over looking the garden and as we looked out the next morning it was like a winter wonderland. our evening meal was incredible with delicious food and brilliant service. it was lovely being back at buxted and remembering our magical day last year; we are so pleased that we chose buxted for our wedding our every need was catered for and nothing was too much trouble. buxted park is an amazing venue with amazing staff i would recommend it to everyone and i do ! thankyou for our stay we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

May I convey my best wishes to you both on your anniversary. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and both the food and service was brilliant. I will ensure your kind words are conveyed to the team later this week.

May I convey my best wishes for Christmas and the New year when we hope to welcome you back to Buxted Park.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
There are newer reviews for Buxted Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Buxted Park Hotel but this visit was extra special. Unknown to me my wife had told Marc that it was my birthday. This gave Marc and his team the excuse to make fun of me (In the nicest possible way) giving us and our guests a fabulous entertaining evening.
As usual the food and service from all of the hotel staff was excelent. They also take extra care of my wifes GF diatery requirements, even making special canapes and bread for her.
There was a large wedding on at the time but in reality we hardly noticed it whereby in other hotels it can spoil an evening.
We also regularly attend their Dinner Shows - also highly recomended for an enjoyable evening.
Buxted is a wonderful hotel full of charm and character - the same as the staff!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra to upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Marc is a great character for the hotel and his ability to recognise past guests is legendary. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your evening and your wife’s dietary requirements were catered for.

Our Blues and Swing evening is on the 27th January which you may be interested in, I advise to book now to avoid disappointment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, when I can assure you of our very best attention

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We held a Christmas reception for 100 people at Buxted Park, with a little concert in the Orangery and drinks and canapes in the Coat of Arms Room. The service was impeccable - nothing was too much trouble and the guests were delighted with the venue which looked lovely and Christmassy but not too fussy, and the delicious canapes and mulled wine. Great trouble was taken to accommodate the few special diets and the guests all had a lovely time. The space is very versatile with a nice concert space, comfy seating and cosy little corners for people to network, too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor following your event at Buxted Park.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your evening and found the service to be impeccable. I will certainly convey your kind words to the team.

The Orangery is indeed stunning and definitely a popular room within the hotel for private events and weddings.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

One of many visits to my second home! A special evening of champagne, excellent food, a little education and elegance, with a tinge of relaxation and good friends. Congratulations to all the staff that made the evening such a brilliant night, you should all feel very proud of another successful event.
We will return very very soon.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for placing a review on Trip advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your evening and that you intend to return to the hotel very soon.

I will ensure your kind words are conveyed to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Buxted Park in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The second time we have wined and dined at Buxted Park but this time for a very special Champagne and Gourmet Dinner with overnight stay, at an excellent price. There is a disabled ramp walkway into the Hotel,as well as stairs,so access for the disabled is easy, with a swift concierge service.From beginning to end our stay was faultless.Staff at all levels are very professional,clearly well trained, but so welcoming and friendly,giving always a personal touch to their service.They miss nothing. I left some papers on the dinner - table and my coat behind my chair at breakfast. On both occasions staff spotted them and brought them to me. Our standard ground-floor room ,with views across the lawns,was comfortable, perfect for my disabled partner,with an excellent wet floor shower-room.Marc escorted us,brought our luggage and carefully ensured that all was well with the room before he left.Close to all amenities,there were also small open lifts to avoid the few stairs en route to the room and to the Orangery for dinner but we were accompanied all the way to make things easy for us.

We had booked in for a late Sunday lunch at 2pm (officially the last booking time) but,due to travel problems,unfortunately,arrived much later than that,hungry,rather harassed and on edge.The restaurant staff could not have been kinder and made no fuss at all about us being so late,giving us particularly welcoming and charming service and a very enjoyable,refined version of Sunday lunch.
We were thoughtfully escorted into dinner by the easiest route before the main party followed.The Orangery was splendid to behold,laid up for dinner round one long oval table, brilliantly lit with chandeliers, glittering with glasses and silver .The event was carefully orchestrated:food was served promptly and was uniformly excellent ; the pleasure of drinking five different glasses of champagne to accompany it was enhanced by the explanations of the Laurent Perrier representative who was present.Dinner-table companions,all clearly having a great time,were cheerful and convivial,making for a tremendously enjoyable evening.

An excellent breakfast the next morning left us totally satisfied with our little excursion.Congratulations to management at all levels for setting such high standards and to the staff, of course, for delivering such an excellent overall experience for their guests. Of course we are looking forward to returning,aren't we?

Room Tip: Because of mobility problems we have requested convenient,ground floor twin rooms .There are really...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furbysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that Marc and the team looked after you so well. Our gourmet evenings are very popular at Buxted Park and feature throughout the year, I know Marc’s enthusiasm for these events is very infectious and guests return on numerous occasions to enjoy our evenings.

On behalf of all the team at Buxted Park I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when I can assure you of the very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Buxted Park Hotel proved to be another unique break with Hand Picked Hotels. All venues are very different and BPH proved just what we were looking for as a recuperation break following major emergency surgery. The staff were all delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and there was no difficulty suiting a slightly fussy eater. Our room, although a basic one, was fine for the 3 nights, it was quiet with no sounds penetrating from adjoing rooms, the only niggle being the low level of lighting. I am sure a brighter bulb would have been produced had I asked for it. The views were lovely although I did wonder about leaving the French Doors open at night for fresh air in the summer months. We strolled in the mud enjoying the grounds, visited Sheffield Park - at least we did not need our wellies there - and generally relaxed which we found very easy to do. A visit in the spring or in the autumn before all the colourful leaves have been blown or washed away is under consideration for next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoldandgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to recuperate following recent surgery.

We are fortunate to have some fantastic walking routes around the hotel, albeit currently wellies are a necessity.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Buxted park is now our second home
Small country hotel about 40 rooms
Service is out off this world
When you arrive they make you feel like lost friends
Food is always very good
Look out for there special nights ,dinning with wine parrying
Marc the f&m manager is French and is most off his staff they are friendly and good fun
We have been here 6 times this year and have 2 more booked before Christmas

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldboot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel, service and hospitality and mentioned Marc our food and beverage manager with praise. Buxted Park is truly special and I believe this is down to the team who strive to ensure all our guests feel like it is coming home when they stay with us.

I will ensure your kind words are relayed to them at our next team meeting.

I look forward to welcoming you back to hotel before Christmas and introducing myself.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uckfield
3.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,214 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
16.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxted Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxted Park Hotel

Address: Buxted Park, Uckfield TN22 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Price Range: $143 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxted Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sussex, this magnificent Georgian Palladian mansion is set in 312 acres of superb parkland yet conveniently located only 24 miles from Gatwick Airport and 60 miles from Heathrow, with easy access to the M25 and London. The parkland features three lakes and is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a real feature for walkers and orienteers with walking maps available from reception.All of the guest bedrooms are finished to the highest standard with flat screen TV, DVD player and complimentary high speed internet. Feature rooms and suites have been carefully designed to blend Georgian styling with today's more contemporary comforts. A small fitness room is located in the hotel and in addition, guests are able to workout in the comfort and privacy of their hotel bedrooms with gym and yoga bags.The Dining Room has become a food destination accredited with 2 AA rosettes recognising the high standards of cuisine and offering the finest in regional produce and seasonal flavours. Regular special culinary events are held each month featuring gourmet, tribute and interactive experiences such as Cookery School. Enjoy nearby places of interest such as Brighton and Eastbourne only 20 miles away, Tunbridge Wells, Haywards Heath, East Grinstead and Lewes all on the hotel’s doorstep. Local attractions include Battle Abbey, Penshurst Place & Gardens, Seven Sisters, Sheffield Park Gardens and Bluebell Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buxted Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxted Hotel Park Uckfield
Hotel Buxted Park
Buxted Park Uckfield
Buxted Country House Park
Buxted Park Country House
Buxted Park Hotel East Sussex/Uckfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing