We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Country Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the pretty village of Roke Oxfordshire, just off the B4009, Benson to Watlington road, our freshly prepared home cooked seasonal menu offers you choice and value for money . The secure south facing garden is dog friendly and they are welcome in the bar and snug, where the double aspect open fire greets you all year round. Open for food from 12 - 2 and 6.00 - 9.00 Every day except for Monday and Sunday evenings.
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Country Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Open fire made it feel very welcoming and cosy. Lyn the landlady was great. Food was good and the location too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    48
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a charming old country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We treated my mum and stepdad to a meal at The Home Sweet Home, and were not disappointed. It really is a lovely old thatched pub, characterful and cosy with an open fire, low ceilings and ancient beams. Lovely atmosphere and very friendly and attentive staff. I chose the pork belly which was absolutely melt in the mouth and came topped with flavoursome crackling and baked apple slices, creamed potatoes, carrots, parsnips and red cabbage. My mum really enjoyed her dish of hake fillet (and she is a very discerning diner!) whilst the chaps ordered potato-topped fish pie, and burger and chips, all homemade. For pudding all four of us chose sticky toffee pudding with custard. When we needed more custard, a jug was produced immediately. Maybe the menu could be a bit more extensive, a chicken dish would be nice. That said, I really enjoyed my meal, we all did, and hope to visit again soon. Thank you, Home Sweet Home!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoolzB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, Somerset
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Roast in Lovely English Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place should be the blueprint for how struggling country pubs need to go in order to survive.
The food was excellent (and locally sourced), service friendly and atmosphere fantastic.
We must have had seven different vegetables with our roast! The Beef was proper thick cut Sirloin slices (not the over cooked thin poor quality meat that you often get!).
Great range of Ales as well which is a bonus.
It's a drive to get there but totally worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAFCDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a buzz !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our first visit was for Sunday lunch and the whole place was buzzing. Excellent beer and the best roast beef we have eaten. Not just roast beef, but no fewer than 11 vegetables - all done to perfection. Lots of nooks and corners and also people enjoying standing in the bar area having a pint like we used to the old days before "gastro-oubs".

Sunday lunch was so good that I took another friend there today for a weekday lunch - just as good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank risatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I love this place for all it serves. Great food, service and staff...they will go out of their way to help you. Food is freshly prepared and so delicious....try it out. Open fire a wonderful centre piece..

Helpful?
Thank Rosalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Sweet Home also viewed

 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing