We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My experience of the Cafe at Root ONE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Root One Cafe

Root One Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Blewbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“My experience of the Cafe at Root ONE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friends and I have been using The café at Root one for a few years now, the cooked breakfasts there are very good indeed.
They are cooked freshly to order and the toast is always hot.
The staff of the Café are excellent especially JENNY the manager of the café.
She is always happy to see us and makes a fuss of our 4 year old son.
All the staff of the Café are happy to help and cannot do enough for us.

We do like to have a breakfast with our friends on most Saturday mornings but have not done so every Saturday like we used to as the hot drinks are not included in the price of the breakfasts anymore so this has made it very expensive for my family to eat out every week.

I think if you are paying for a BIG MAN breakfast that is £10 you should get a pot of tea or cup of coffee included in the price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Garden Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice Garden Center with a great atmosphere in the cafe. Friendly staff and a great Breakfast, also has a collection of other meals, but the breakfasts are a must.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cyclists Not Welcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our cycling club has regularly used Root One Café as a convenient fuelling stop usually after several hours in the saddle and we have found their cakes and coffee generally pretty good. On this particular roasting hot day, we were eagerly anticipating our break at Root One but because there was a sizeable group of us, we were asked to leave our bikes outside of the garden centre out of view from the café. This would have exposed our bikes to a risk of theft. Overall we gained the impression that our group (some 20 riders representing more than £150 of business to the café in one go) was not welcome so we left. I do not really understand how businesses can prosper when they treat potential customers like that, especially when in the past, there have not been objections to our bringing our bikes into the garden centre. Never mind - I suggest that future potential cycling customers ride the five miles or so to the café at Benson (on the Thames) where the facilities are better and they know how to treat customers. I doubt if we will be going back to Root One.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Garden centre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're going here for the pots and plants, and eating is an afterthought then great. But I wouldn't recommend going here just for the café.

Menu was standard for these types of places. We ordered the soup of the day and a baguette. Arrived 20 minutes later (a little longer than expected) and although pleasant we didn't feel the soup was home made (perhaps it wasn't claimed to be). But for £5 for a bowl of soup and two rounds of bread, it was a little expensive too.

Much acclaim to the young waiter though, who got an earful from a customer because her fried egg was broken. He handled it very professionally so full marks.

If I was in the area for pots and plants, I'd probably go again but just for a cuppa and cake. This was homemade but again, £2.50 for a fruit scone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJParkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The cakes, all homemade, are absolutely delicious! Jenny catered for our party of about 20 people effortlessly (or at least it seemed effortless!) & was lovely.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Camassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root One Cafe also viewed

 
Benson, Wallingford
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Root One Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing