We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start Bad Ending”
Review of The Dolphin

The Dolphin
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pub
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Start Bad Ending”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Arrived here for a bite to eat with a few friends. The bar and dining area were both fairly busy however we decided to stick around and order anyway. The menu sounded delicious so all decided to have the soup of the day and then a main course.

The soup arrived after about 15 mins which concidering they were busy was not bad and it was to die for!! It was chunky, fresh and certainly home made. The bread roll was warm and freshly baked.The portion size made it a meal on its own.

After waiting another 20mins for our mains the enthusism died! my friend has scampi which was the darkest colour of brown I have ever seen a food. Obviously over cooked in the fryer. To make matters worse when she bit into the scampi it wasnt even scampi it was a roast potatoe.....how can the two be confused!
All the chips served with our meals were undercooked and not appealing, the peas like bullets.

It was clear that the bar staff were not interested as no one approached to ask if everything was ok with our meals.

Sad, could have been an excellent meal....tip to manager....ditch the cook

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    9
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

In the past this pub in the centre of Wallingford offered a warm hearty welcome, fire would be blazing away and that was enough with that glow to make one feel, this is an ok place to be. Not so today. First off the fire was not lit, secondly, the radiators were stone cold and in fact the place was simply uncomfortable to be in mid December. On top of which the staff were unhelpful and seemingly uncaring. Needless to say we did not stay and left after having had one drink. This is a great pity as it is a pub that the locals use and being local chaps are a pretty friendly bunch of guys.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peejay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch and tried the burgers and scampi and we were all very impressed. The quality and quantity was great. The staff were very friendly, despite being busy. We shall be coming back soon

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAC-B-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great first experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Very happy with everything at The Dolphin. Food was great with a good selective menu. Service and atmosphere was excellent. Highly recommended.
And their toiletries are NOT tested on animals which made me a very happy customer :)

Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great first visit”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Today we ate breakfast at The Dolphin, great full English! Not greasy and very goid service! We even took our dog Scamp who had 2 sausages !
Nice atmosphere , locals having a good laugh with eack other!!
We will be regulars for sure!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Epb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin also viewed

 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Benson, Wallingford
 

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing