We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't visit again”
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Six Bells at Warborough is a beautiful English Pub dating from the 1600's in the heart of South Oxfordshire. All are welcome at The Six Bells. The bar is a friendly place where you can spend time relaxing in front of our open fire while unwinding after a long day or just watch the world go by with a glass of your favourite..... Families are welcome and feel free to bring your dog into the bar area too!
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't visit again”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Food was alright but the staff, well, do they want to work there? Looking at other reviews, perhaps the experience is dependent on who is working at the time. I'd much prefer to go somewhere that I'm welcomed and valued as a paying customer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LPM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    47
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shillingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am a regular visitor to this pub and am amazed by some of the negative reviews here. Are they sure they were at the Bells? The landlady could not be more friendly, hard working and accommodating and although the food is not gourmet/fancy it is always excellent quality and good value. As with many small establishments, they can be overwhelmed when an unexpected rush occurs but, in our experience, any delays in service are handled with good grace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my wife came here for lunch and were let down by very disinterested staff and an over priced menu. We had to ask for our drinks several times and could not catch the eye of any member of staff to enquire about the menu- it felt like we were doing them a favour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub, suberb food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent pub, friendly, great service, lovely food. We particularly liked the Thai prawn curry, delicious, just the right heat and balance of flavours. Also good were the chicken Caesar salad and fish and chips. Also good selection of wine. The Six Bells is really on form and it is in such a lovely setting, great base for walking and exploring the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiggersBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good pub food, lovely setting”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited on a very busy, hot Friday evening. We were greeted warmly by the landldy. We were warned that we may have to wait for food as they were so busy, in fact the wait was very reasonable. We both had the moroccon lamb burgers, i requeated salad instead of chips. The burgers were very good. Only comment would be to serve 'real' chips rather than the obviously frozen variety. The red wine by the glass was very disappointing also. Overall however fabulous setting, good service and good pub food. Would definitely go back (but avoid the red wine!),

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anneandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Benson, Wallingford
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing