We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and polite service.”
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
Ranked #43 of 60 Restaurants in Wallingford
Cuisines: Argentinean, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited 7/10/2013 for early evening meal. Good, pleasant (upped their game since early summer visit) service in riverside surroundings. Quality food with generous portions and great value for money. Would reccommend this to anyone and will certainly visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnBoyCholsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

This review is solely about Customer Service

The quality and quantity of the food, as well as the location beside the Thames, could not overcome the abysmal customer service of the Boathouse. If I had remembered to get online to check the rating we never would have gone here in the first place (which served to remind me, always, always, always check Tripadvisor first). Alas I didn't so in we went.
It was obvious we were visitors, both from our accents and our lack of knowledge of protocol for ordering food in a pub but instead of stepping up customer service to assist visitors, we were made to feel like 2nd class people who deserved no service because we didn't know what we were doing. After sitting with the menu for quite a while we observed from other patrons that we were to place our food order at the bar. One of our party did so and returned to the table. Several minutes later a waitress showed up to ask if we wanted an "opened or closed tab" one of which we had to choose BEFORE the kitchen would even start preparing our food! We asked for, and received an explanation of the difference between open and closed, although it was obvious by her demeanour that we should know the difference! Since we had ordered fix course items, one of which stated it came with dessert, we decided on a closed tab. 40 minutes later our food started arriving. There seemed to be lots of wait staff wandering around the premises but it was the guy behind the bar who eventually brought our food to the table!
We were engrossed in conversation during and after our meal, assuming that dessert would be delivered sometime after the dinner plates having been cleared away. After almost an hour we decided to inquire as to the whereabouts of dessert only to be informed that since we had not made the choice when placing the original food order of which of 2 desserts we wanted, no dessert would be forthcoming. Apparently that fact was stated on the menu but try as we might 6 of us could not find any reference to ordering particular desserts! Oh, and by the way, since the tab was closed, no desserts could be added, even though they were included in the price of the meal!!!!
We were told a manager would come to speak with us about this but after waiting another half hour, taking up a prime eight person table location, no one appeared to ask us if we wanted more service, if we were finished, if we were planning to vacant the table soon-nothing!
So we left, wiser in 2 areas: 1) we will always check TripAdvisor before entering a restaurant and 2) we will never go to the Boat House again!

1  Thank AJWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear AJWanderers

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Boat House in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate here twice whilst on a Thames boating holiday. Both times we found it easy to moor nearby. The service is very quick here and the menu is extensive. It is good value for money as the portions are large. Inside, the pub is not posh - lots of people coming and going all the time but it is ideal for a stopover lunch. The views outside the pub are lovely and opposite (on the other side of the river) there is an outdoor pool so if you are cruising along the Thames you can stop here and let the children have a swim before lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernice_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my friends go to The Boat House often and usually have a good time but last night one of the bar staff was unfriendly rude and treated as if we were an inconvenience. this was not pleasant. It got so uncomfortable going up to the bar that we left (there was a good 15 of us) and we went to another pub instead. We were not being loud or boisterous just sitting at our table talking. Shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank OzzyD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear OzzyD55, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, John Barras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This picture is not of the Boathouse in Wallingford
Only had a drink, staff friendly, and fairly quick,
A wonderful place to sit outside on a sunny day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martin4fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford
 
Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing