We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bubbly and friendly staff”
Review of The Boat House

The Boat House
Ranked #33 of 57 Restaurants in Wallingford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bubbly and friendly staff”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were passing in the area yesterday and fancied a bite to eat where we could sit outside and enjoy the beautiful sunshine.
We came across the boathouse and what a lovely experience we had. The food was lovely and excellent value for money they also had a huge selection ofvice cold beverages which was just lovely to sit in the garden which is situated right on the thames. The bar team were ever so helpful and went out of their way to help me with my newborn baby by helping down the stairs with his pushchair and warming his bottle for me.
I would like to thank jordan in particular as he is a true assett to the team. Overall a lovely afternoon and we will be sure to return in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    73
    51
    40
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Courtenay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I try to find some good in every place i visit, plus i haven't reviewed anywhere so close to home before. However this place left me so "amazed" by it poor service I just had to write a review.
We had cycled over to wallingford from home on a lovely sunny afternoon, so by the time we passed the The Boat House we were in need of refreshment...The outside area was okay a bit messy? but we were under trees? empty glasses on every table?
Hubby went in to get drinks...he's noted as not one for queuing or waiting...I waited after 7 minutes I walked inside expecting to see him..dead on the floor, having a fight, or a game of pool...he was the only one there, he'd ordered the drinks and was waiting and waiting...he waited over 10 minutes...for a pint of cider and a pimms-which came to £9. We shall not be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Loudnorthernbird, thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Awful”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having experienced many excellent pubs on The Thames we were shocked at how awful this pub was on a Sunday afternoon. It was almost impossible to talk to anyone over the deafening heavy music blasting out. There were several intimidating drunks lurching around, and the outside terrace was filthy with uncollected glasses and plates on every table. What a real shame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuddleyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Cuddleyian, thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Dined over May Bank Holiday & some previous comments valid. Food was good value, clientele mixed, staffing level inadequate though they were very helpful & courteous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonBoy3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Everytime!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Me and my husband come here around 3 times aweek. Whatever Nikki is doing to her team shes doing great. Always outstanding service from jordan and stacey, If they carry on following in nikki footsteps they will be going far with there jobs and life. This pub offers great drinks and food and is lovely when the sun is out, to sit by the river, believe me or not, but the other bad commments are just rubbish, The food is fresh and the fish is not microwaved, everypub gets there bad customers. if you want a quite drink, with a cheap bite to eat, with friendly staff this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing