We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not like food”
Review of Shangki-Li

Shangki-Li
Ranked #26 of 63 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I shouldn’t eat ‘ersatz’ food and with this takeaway we actually couldn’t. Vegan crispy duck was some soft lumps of stuff; veg satay little lumps of stuff in an over-sweet sauce; spring rolls were good though. Boiled rice was fine. Veg Singapore noodles a strange colour and over-spiced with not much of interest in it. King prawns in a gloopy sauce. Family bean curd possibly ok but couldn’t eat as so unappetised by rest of food. What has happened? Why so much sugar in the satay?

Thank Sukey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2018

Takeaway on Saturday 26th May. I wondered why on Saturday night, when I collected a takeaway, there were lots of empty tables in the restaurant. Now I know why-the food is awful. The half of crispy duck must have been cooked for several customers before us and was tough,tasteless and the skin was soggy. The pancakes came in 2 plastic bags and were fairly insipid. The 3rd course consisted of 2 large prawns in some tomato sauce (King Prawn Ha Suey) The 3 courses cost £29.60 for 2 people.
I know it can be cooked well as the last owners were brilliant.
Yours very sincerely.
Rickylivid.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rickylivid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

hi ricky im really sorry to hear about that. if you like please call us on this phone NO.01491651919, we will sort it out for you.

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited The Shangki-Li having not visited for years, but hearing that it had changed hands we thought we’d give it a try.
The food we had was mixed; the soup starters were good, the appetisers were below average and unfortunately quite bland (certainly used to be a higher standard), but the main courses were good.

I’d recommend asking for chow mein to accompany your main if you fancy a change from rice. The puddings were nothing to write home about either.

The presentation of the menu was not high end (a laminated card presenting the buffet offering for ~£18, but having said that the staff were very attentive and helpful. Sadly the speed of the service for the food wasn’t as good (it took us about 2 and a half hours to eat, but we weren’t in a rush). The wine menu was good, but we were disappointed when we ordered the Gewurtztraminer, to find we were brought a Riesling; not a bad substitute but I’d rather have had what was on the menu (suppliers were blamed).

The restaurant, toilets and general decor could do with some investment as it’s certainly looking a little tired.

In summary an average Chinese, but worth a visit for a reasonably priced eat as much as you ‘can’ menu in the village. If you want something higher quality then you’ll need to travel.

Thank GlobeTrotting803449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

hi. thank you very much to let us know how you feel about it. and sorry that wine as well. i remember you guys, very nice and friendly.

thank you for your suggesting.i will report to the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

After the 4 star review on trip advisor we thought we would visit on a Saturday night for the all you can eat menu (£18ish each, £1 extra for duck and pancakes). Good, efficient service but the food was a real disappointment. Such a shame as the reviews we had read were mostly positive. Smoked chicken good but ribs had very little meat on the and were only about 6cm long, salt and pepper prawns tasted of nothing but batter and the prawn toast looked very sad. Crispy duck has very little meat and looked like the scraps of the leftovers from someone else’s plate. Main course of sweet and sour pork ok, but beef in black bean was not nice, thick glutinous sauce unlike anything I’ve seen before - we left this. Rice congealed into the shape of the bowl and came lukewarm. I’ve had much better Chinese meals in the local area (Pangbourne and Goring especially) and would rather go back there, pay a couple of pounds more for a higher quality of food. We ignored the fact this restaurant also had a food hygiene rating of 1! Such a shame as the reviews suggested that this was a great place to go - maybe we went on an ‘off’ night...!

Thank Cam8648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

hello Cam8648

im very sorry to hear this happen to you.we don not know how we can make up to you.if you like try one more time plesase booking table ask for felix, see what we can do for you. and thank very much for the feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Everyone has the 'eat all you like' standard meal. Its very good and despite being under new management the standard hasn't slipped. Remember to ask for the salt&pepper prawns as they are fabulous! Try to resist stuffing yourself on the delectable starters as the mains are also very good indeed. If possible keep a small space for banana or apple fritters and sorbet to finish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review for SHANGKI-LI I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed you visit and do hope you decide to come again. Kindest Regards Felix White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangki-Li also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Benson, Wallingford
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 
Didcot, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Shangki-Li? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing