We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good food at great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shangki-Li

Shangki-Li
Ranked #20 of 56 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good food at great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been here a number of times now. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The place itself is above a Tesco Express...but you would never know! Cholsey village itself is a lovely little place.

The food is fresh and agreeable. We typically have the banquet and it is good. I must admit I find the starters particularly good - smoked chicken, spring rolls, Mongolian lamb, satay chicken, won ton... And then we get more :)

The main courses are tasty...sizzling chicken with ginger a well ordered main dish. Plenty of veggie stuff all freshly stir fried too!

Overall a very good experience. It is a set menu cost and you can order what you like. The beer is Tsing Tao and ok...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    7
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moulsford on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value, you won't leave hungry, but eat in!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a good reliable Chinese, the food is plentiful, service always good, and friendly, and the quality is very good for the price.
The restaurant is above the local Tesco express, and is in need of an update, but is always busy, so this makes up for the lack lustre decor.
Have been a number of times, as you know exactly what you are going to get lots of good Chinese food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fill your boots”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

11 of us attended Saturday evening and had the 'eat as much as you like' menu. Excellent food and plenty of it. The place was packed so you'll need to book.

Staff excellent, food excellent - Thoroughly impressed and will deffo be back. Even my daughter liked it and she can be very fussy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OX10bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No better than Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not one to normally write reviews but I got take-out from here based on the good reviews.I got take-out for myself and the missus, Spring Rolls, Chicken Satay, Salt and Pepper King Prawns, Beef and Blackbean. First impression was that it was very oily. Just removing the cartoons from the bag my hands were covered in oil. Onto the food, wasn't very fresh and it was very oily, the springrolls tasted of nothing, the chicken satay was average, the beef and black bean was average and the king prawns were just a bit odd, as they were in batter but still had the shell on under the batter. I chose to avoid the shell and cut out the prawn but they had that grainy taste like they were not fresh or washed very well. Even the rice wasn't great. The price wasn't huge but it was too much for what we got.
Very disappointed, wanted to try something new from our usual Thai take out tonight and this place wasn't a patch on it. Pity, I had hoped for better, and the missus not very happy with me now!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeantCecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was well below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Saw the reviews and thought we were on to a winner. All we got was a takeaway but the main courses were very poor an the side were just as bad, will not be going there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangki-Li also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Shangki-Li? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing