We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub gone sour”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #21 of 419 Restaurants in Warrington
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub gone sour”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have wined and dined at the Swan many times over the years and it USED to be excellent. On Saturday 23 /02/13 we took my son and his girlfriend out for lunch . We arrived at 11,45 and there was only around 10 people inside. WE chose our table and i went to the bar to get some drinks. i was stood alone at the bar for nearly ten minutes before a barman could be bothered to appear and almost in slow motion took the order. There could have been a problem in the cellar who knows as he never apologised as to the delay.I took the drinks to the table and then returned to the bar a few minutes later to order our food.
Upon arriving at the bar one person was being served by a female member of staff,as she finished serving the man, i was about to ask if i could order our meals but she ignored me and left the bar area. I could see 3 or 4 staff all stood chatting in the corner. at last we ordered our meals. This was now 12.15 half an hour after our arrival. Our meals didn`t arrive at the table until 13.10 . 55 minutes later, good job we didn`t have starters or a sweet. Io top it off a family of 7 decided to squeeze onto the table for 4 next to us and you could hear them and their noisy child throughout the pub. simply not on our list any more, we would have received better service at the Burger king over the road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smath7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Smath7

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the service you received at the Swan. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    267
    129
    92
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We stop serving when we want...”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Eaten here regularly, and the food and service has always been good. After a long day at work arrived at 9.10pm on Sunday (food served until 9.30 says the menu) to a very quiet car park.

As we entered a waitress appeared, till drawer in hand, to greet us with a smile. But not a table for two!!

'We've had no-one in for over an hour and so the kitchen has closed'.

And that was it.

Yet another pub that ignores what it says on their webpage and menu and only serves when convenient for the staff. How is the customer supposed to know when we can eat?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Daniel D

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that when you arrived at the Swan that it was no longer serving food. I have passed on your comments to the management team and sent you a direct messaged.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Retro service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The difficulty here maybe the distance from the kitchen to the furthest room. The speed of service was good but poor. Steaks ordered and we had then on the table within 8 minutes which meant they hadn't rested evidenced by the blood juices. No steak knives and request for mustards and vinegar forgotten ( bear in mind she had asked us!) . Had to go to another waitress at the door to request them. Chips going colder. My partners chips were a little warmer than mine and she doesn't like a fuss. Saw a table of 7 next to us where two meals were served but no cutlery and after 5-6 minutes one of the diners went to the door asking for cutlery and the rest of the meals. Finished our meal about 8.25 and waitress enquirer re sweets which we declined. She left the table with the dirty plates and went out of the room empty handed! 9.00pm and I had to go and find a waitress to pay. Sorry management but you need to be more vigilant and instill pride in service within your staff. Have been there several times, disappointed at this visit, perhaps the current staff are new....looked like it.

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Improving improving improving . New people in charge”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Yes as s few have said the speed of the food could be quicker but it's fresh good done well . Met new managers this evening and their impact is immediate . Staff on their toes no gossiping in corners toilets having a a makeover , the general cleaning much improved . Very enjoyable . Keep going

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake1jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Service and experiences vary visit to visit”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have visited the Swan quite a few times over the past few years. The food is usually good, menu is variant but drinks are a little too expensive. Older members of staff have generally better people skills than the younger ones. On one visit, one of the more mature waitresses was run off her feet as the younger ones were gossiping behind the bar, our drinks order took 20 mins to arrive, again the younger ones were more focused on chatting than seeing to the customers. Waiting times for main course are often unacceptable. On a visit for my son's birthday, his main course arrived 15 mins after everyone else's, we got an apology and they didn't charge us for the meal. Customer service needs to improve and waiting times for meals but the food is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMabel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing