We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely girly dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath
Ranked #8 of 410 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ego has an amazing location in Stockton Heath and benefits from free car parking in the Aldi car park as well as a lovely terrace that catches the sunshine all afternoon.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely girly dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went early one Saturday evening in case we fancied the early bird fixed price menu. We didn't, so ate a la carte.

Quite an eclectic Mediterranean mixed menu and I settled on the koftas and special pasta - linguini with smoked salmon, peas, broad beans and asparagus with a creamy sauce. My friend had the chorizo and sea bass. We had a bottle of house Rioja. Then added a couple of cocktails after seeing the ladies on the table next to us sipping some.

What's great about this place is the service. From the time we arrived to when we left it was personal and discreet and came naturally. IE the waitress heard us debating whether to have cocktails and brought the menu over pointing out it was 2 4 1 until 7pm...it was 18:55. She was happy to change the side salad with my starter (I can't abide raw carrot) and asked the chef on the tartness of the orange tart. It turned out to be quite sweet so I opted for the cheese board for 'desert'.

It was huge! The chutney with it was gorgeous. My pal's chocolate tart was delicious and very generous.

We'd spent a lovely couple of hours nattering eating good food and enjoying a few drinks too many. The place was filling up as we were finishing but we weren't hurried to leave.

I think it's slightly over priced - best part of £90 for the two of us. But at the same time I didn't feel ripped off. There are offers to be had - we just didn't fancy the fixed price mains. But then, great service does not come cheap.

I'd happily go back.



  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandandseaforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    220
    79
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A game of two halves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Love this restaurant - great people, great food and good value. Last Friday was a little mixed though with the special ( Spanish tuna stew) being very ordinary indeed . On the flip side my wife's pasta was one of the best I've ever had ( well jell) ! My big gripe in restaurants is having the smell of floor cleaning chemicals attacking my nose while I am eating and this happened to me last Friday and To me it destroys the experience so I just wanted to feed that back . I will be back - often - thanks Ego's

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor food on two consecutive occasions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I ordered a haloumi kebab with salad and couscous. The haloumi kebab was tasteless as was the couscous (which was also cold) and the tabouleh salad.

Last time, I ordered beef bourguignon. I like salt in my food but this was so salty that I couldn't eat it. The person who took it away tasted it too and agreed. They provided me a tasteless risotto as an alternative and they didn't offer to compensate me for the fact that my friend had finished her meal before I even started mine.

I live in the village and like to eat out for lunch quite often. Please can you improve the flavours in your food but don't include MSG to do this - just cook tasty food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Ego Restaurants prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would be be grateful if you could please forward your contact details to info@egorestaurants.co.uk to enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food but no atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good lunchtime menu and good kids' meals too. We went late in the afternoon and they were still happy to serve us from the lunchtime menu. Food well presented and tasty. Youngest granddaughter made a fair mess and we managed to knock over a full glass of drink and the staff dealt with it all cheerfully. Will go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrissssan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all customer feedback and we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mediterranean heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reasonably priced , tasty food with a nice selection of dishes from around the Med. There is something for everyone and can satisfy even vegetarians and steak lovers alike.
Desserts are scrumptious and large portions. This is a buzzy restaurant and can get a bit noisy when there are large tables in especially at weekends but quieter during the week.
Service is friendly and efficient , even when they are extremely busy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janbee230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we love hearing from all our customers and we do hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath also viewed

 
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing