We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for any occasion!”

Mr Lau's Dim Sum Bar + Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 413 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Set within the impressive Cameo Cinema building on Springfield St., Warrington Mr Lau's Dim Sum Bar + Restaurant is a revolution to Chinese cuisine. Mr Lau's uses a traditional Peking cooking style, acquired through the founder's rich culinary experience. After escaping Chairman Mao's revolution, Mr Lau spent years in Hong Kong perfecting his cooking techniques. Eventually he brought his knowledge to England where his granddaughter now continues his legacy. At the ultra contemporary bar, one can enjoy an extensive choice of exotic cocktails, oriental beers, wines and bar snacks. Open daily from midday to midnight, reservations recommended but are not essential.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for any occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I visited Mr Lau's yesterday evening with my partner & it was superb as usual. Excellent food, great atmosphere & even on a quiet Tuesday night there were a number of groups dining there. I've been a number of times now (5 or 6 times) and enjoyed the Dim Sum menu each time. My favorite dish is the salt & pepper king prawns - sublime!
The restaurant is modern with a trendy feel and is ideal for dining as a couple or eating out in a group or family!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    169
    51
    23
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Went with my Mum for spontaneous lunch out. We were a little early and the restaurant was not yet open but we were allowed in and given menus and he took our drinks order. Lovely place - you'd never guess the size from the little front door. Have been once before where the service was amazing. Thus time Our order got a little confused and there was a mix up with a few of our dishes, but we didn't mention this to them as the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend. Thanks Mr Laus!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tastastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time here at Mr Lau's - superb food and electric atmosphere. This place is a breath of fresh air and much needed in Warrington.
We enjoyed a feast of dim sums (Chinese tapas) and a mixture of main meals, all cooked to perfection. My favourite was the salt and pepper squid, simply delicious. The service was excellent, we were greated by the owners who are exemplary hosts, and all the waiting on staff are knowledgable and friendly, special mention to Oliver who was a star.
Once we finished our meal we went over to the bar area and enjoyed a short, of which there are many to choose from and a fab cappucino best in Warrington. Thanks for a top evening, we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service the manager is rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited mr laus on saturday after booking a table for four. We arrived promptly ar 7pm and ordered food and cocktails. We expected a lovely evening as we had heard good things about this establishment but we were wrong. We were rushed through the meal and mains were brought as we were just finishing our starters. My friend requested a glass of water with her meal (after purchasing a drink) but this was not brought until we had finished our meal and we had to ask twice. As our plates were being cleared we were told to move to the bar area at our leisure to finish our drinks. Immediately after this the manager came over and told us to move to the bar becauae he needed our table for another booking - we had been in the restaurant for a total of 40 minutes. When we all looked at him rather annoyed/shocked he began to get rather uppity and rude stating he was only telling us to move to the bar not to leave the building and not to get defensive or angry about it. I explained that we hadnt said anything but he then continued to tell us not to get annoyed. I explained we had booked the table and asked how long he expected a meal to last he simply told us to move again. With that we just finished our drinks and left seeing a crowd of waitresses with the manager gesturing at us and talking about us. I have since emailed the restaurant and told them my complaint but havent recieved a response they clearly dont care about customer service. The food was nice -small portions but the evening was ruined by the rude and inconsiderate staff. Our saturday night out was over in 40 minutes...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 950Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've now visited Mr Lau's on 7 or 8 occasions and had no hesitation in choosing it as a venue for my wider team meeting. The organisation was excellent, the welcome and service very good and the food as always was excellent. All of my team were very impressed and many have visited again since. This is a great restaurant whether you're out as a couple with friends or as a work group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Lau's Dim Sum Bar + Restaurant also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Mr Lau's Dim Sum Bar + Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing