We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IGNORE THE MOANERS !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“IGNORE THE MOANERS !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed her at the end of August with my niece and her 4 kids in a super family suite. The rooms are great, the kids had a den with bunks and individual tv/dvd's and they loved it. Our room had a large tv and dvd also. The breakfast were good. The staff were friendly and very helpfull even telling us were we could go to eat local or offering us take away menus to order in (and let us use their dinning area to eat it) were else could you go and hotels let you do that. The free play room for the kids was fab and kept them very happy after a long day in the park.They even had a room were you could was and dry your clothes for free.....now thats what i call service.We were more than pleased with our stay and hope to do it agian next year,
Many thanks to all at The Gullivers Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    169
    70
    33
    9
See reviews for
363
6
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have been a guest at http://www.thegullivershotel.co.uk/ twice now, and each time I have had a very enjoyable stay. The first time was following from a day spend at the park with my nephew and niece. I have to say the hotel, was just what we needed after an enjoyable but very tiring day on the rides. Staff were friendly and kind and could not do enough for the kids.

The second time was for a work function. The hotel provided all the facilities I would expect of a UK hotel. The breakfast was fine, certainly nothing to complain about and the food in general was great.

I would recommend the hotel, its in a great location, ideal for the park, clean, fresh and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Reading reviews the day before arrival filled me with enough concern as to pick the phone up & call the hotel to discuss the issues. Louise who answered, having probably heard these concerns numerous times by now, handled my call with expertise. She neither defended the hotel nor slated trip advisor or those who commented. Louise let me air my concerns, then set about explaining how many of the issues had occurred due to opening perhaps too quickly, & to a full house due to the highly successful Groupon deal - which meant teething issues became glaring failures - reported in duplicate by reviewers. I was comfortable by the end of the call! Upon arrival - the hotel was set at the end of the entrance drive to Gullivers. There was a lot of lovely pieces of wood furniture which enhanced the overall wood theme. Reception staff were friendly & very helpful - moving us, unprompted, to a different less noisy room. The one issue there being no name badges. We stayed in the family suite - the children's faces when they saw their bunk beds! They were fantastic. Built with a real tree house effect - a mix of real wood & painting. There was,a tv dvd/cd at the end of each bunk. You were able to borrow dvds for free from reception if you didn't bring any. There was a little hidden area underneath with bean bag & chalkboard. Final touch - a curtain closing them off which as they were located around the corner from us, meant it felt like they were in another room! The family suite was large, with ample storage space, excellent choices for lighting & lovely modern decor. Many have commented on the beds & they were lovely. The mattresses were firm & so deep. Thoughtfully, there was a bottle of cordial & plastic beakers for the kids plus tea/coffee. Unfortunately, the China mugs were dirty - though replaced immediately. In the bathroom stood a little rubber duck & 2 character bubble baths. There was also toiletries to use. Sadly, either missing or broken - no hand towel rail. Food wise - breakfast was the usual mix of hot & cold & adequate. Dinner - choice of 2 starters about £4 & 4 mains about :£8 Sweets : daily choice. If nothing inspired - you can order a take away & eat it in the restaurant? For the kids entertainment - an outdoor area with plastic climbing frame - soon to be upgraded to a more fitting wooden one & indoors - a play room with playstation, football & hockey table, lego, drawing & playhouse. Overall, we all had a lovely 2 day visit & would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmslowPeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and had a great time. The hotel staff is very polite and helpful. DVD library is great way to keep the little ones entertained and occupied during cold rainy day. Didn't use the playroom facilities as we were mostly out but I'm sure that is also good. one of the best hotels to stay with kids.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKamiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Well let's get the positives in first. This hotel is ideally located from the motorway, with easy access to supermarkets, shops and of course the theme park. The majority of staff are friendly and apologetic for the problems the hotel has. The girl however who checked us in was unhelpful and seemed disinterested. We were told, like others that on arrival at 2pm we would be able to upgrade our room yet when we got there at 12.30pm we were told the family suites had "all gone"! They take your card details on check-in yet you cannot charge anything to the rooms as they do not yet have any facility to do this.

So the negatives...
This hotel is not yet finished - it seems like the owners wanted to get it open during the summer holidays but without thinking about the logistics. Some rooms are still being built, the lift doesn't work and the outside areas are a work in progress.

The bedrooms are nice, decent size but according to the website (which is clearly all lies) they were designed by a family for family's. There were no toiletries - a bottle of handwash and a bottle of shower cream, there was no non-slip bath mat, there was no fridge for baby food/milk/etc. Cleanliness in the room was poor - the toilet was filthy and the bedhead full of dust, the chair covered in stains. The phone in the room did not work and despite informing staff nothing was done about this. The beds on the plus side are very comfy.

There is no hotel information available in the rooms and if we hadn't had our iPad to check the website we would not have known about the children's play room, outdoor play area, etc. The staff tell you nothing unless you specifically ask. There is nothing in the rooms to tell you about breakfast times, restaurant or bar details which is probably because despite advertising a restaurant there is not yet one up and running. There are no menus and you can not get any food in the hotel apart from breakfast which is very poor. Instead you are offered takeaway menus which they will arrange to have delivered to the hotel and which you can eat in the restaurant area!! The bar is an extension of the reception desk and there is no bar menu/price list available.

The children's play areas were untidy yet offered enough to keep our son amused for half an hour.

This was our first visit to Gullivers World and will most probably be our last. Yes it's cheap to get in, the rides entertained our 5 year old and the food is reasonably priced inside but the whole place needs a bit of TLC. Rides look tatty and a lot sound like they need to be oiled! On the plus side the park is very clean and there are plenty of seating areas.

We probably wouldn't come back but with a bit of thought and attention this place could improve.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becks_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northop
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I felt i had to write a review to counteract the previous bad reviews The Gullivers Hotel has received. We have just returned from a 1 night stay at the hotel, and could not have been more pleased!
First - all of the staff we came across at the hotel couldnt have been more friendly or helpful. Then the hotel itself is lovely - decorated really nicely and brand spanking new - perhaps people expect too much as this hotel is still unfinished - as there are still rooms waiting to be decorated (not that you can tell when you stay - unless you catch the odd door open!!). The room was immaculate and a good size - beds were really comfy.
We stayed with our 4yr old to visit gullivers world, and after reading poor reviews were unsure what we would do with ourselves in the evening when the park closed. However despite previous comments we warily decided to book into one of the hotels - pizza/pasta evenings, which was fab. OK - it wasnt the best meal in the world we have had, but the attention paid to the kids was amazing. Our little girl loved the games and disco provided - and it was a lovely evenings entertainment. The staff (sorry dont know their names) that hosted the evenings were great with the kids - and really looked like they were enjoying themselves. The fact it was based back in the park restaurant and not at the hotel was a bonus in my opinion.
The breakfast i thought was fine - not the biggest selection i have seen but everything that was there was lovely.
Overall - i would not hesitate recommending this hotel, and we will probably be returning again ourselves in the future.
This is the first review i have written on trip advisor as i felt i had to redress the balance for this lovely hotel and its friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

First the plus points - right next to Gullivers World, decent standard, clean and nice surroundings.

Bad points - Not geared for kids i.e. meal times suited to adults, over priced for what you get, poor facilities for kids in hotel - indoor and outdoor play areas poor and already looking worn after less than a month of hotel opening, staff not on the ball - slow to react to requests, some rooms right next to dining area / bar with lot of noise (avoid room 116!), breakfast quite basic and self service / vending machines for coffee and tea etc.

If I was to go back to Gullivers World I would book into Premier Inn a couple of miles away which is a lot cheaper, where food is excellent and where kids stay and get breakfast for free.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrington hotels
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
4.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington Central North Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Property: The Gullivers Hotel
Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing