We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recently opened adjacent to the theme park of the same name, this hotel offered up a pleasant stay.

The accommodation itself was of a high standard with an organic woodland décor theme throughout. Our room was of a good size with a king size bed and a two tiered pull out for the children. The bathroom was clean and well presented with a bath / shower, the latter of which was most refreshing. Flat screen TV and DVD player and tea / coffee making facilities and a bottle of juice for the kids (a typical example of a very child centered hotel – more of which shortly)

The breakfast was excellent with a choice of 3 hot items every morning (either bacon, sausages, hash browns, scrambled eggs) plus toast, cereal, croissants. fruit and yoghurt with unlimited tea and coffee.
The facilities were where this hotel came into their own. As stated previously, the hotel is very child focused with an outside play area (climbing frame with slides and a small crazy golf) and an indoor play room (Table football, air hockey, lego table, an art table, a play house and a TV with computer game console). Both went down a storm with the kids in our party. There is also a large selection of mainly kids DVD’s for borrowing free of charge.
The whole hotel had a convivial familial ambience to it, both staff and fellow guests alike, marred only by one particular guest who, at the all you can eat buffet and disco held on the first night across at the theme park who objected to the way the queue was operating and promptly swore in front of young children. This was compounded by her, after being asked not to use such language in front of children retorting quite forcibly not to be told what to do. Thankfully this extremely rude woman was the exception to the rule. As a footnote to this disgraceful incident, I am mindful to add the Manager of the restaurant was extremely helpful in dealing with the issue.

Which leads on to my closing point – that of the helpfulness of the staff at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble from arranging the park passes, booking the time slots in the Splash Zone and even with imparting local knowledge on local transport to directions to the nearby Asda and retail park.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a newly opened hotel that it is hoped will go from strength to strength

Room Tip: Do try and get a suite with separated children's sleeping area from the main part of the room, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    169
    70
    33
    9
See reviews for
363
6
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August with my kids aged six and eight.

When I booked it I was told that if I arrived at 2pm there would be 20 rooms available for upgrade and I would have a good chance of getting one. However, when we got there, there were no rooms for upgrade and we had to wait 45 minutes because they had changed the check in to 3pm and not bothered to inform us which was a pain with 2 excited kids going missing wanting to explore the place.

The hotel was nice and clean, the room was lovely and beds really comfortable. On the first morning we went for breakfast at the park which was themed with the zingzillas there so the kids were able to get pictures taken and get autographs, however, this is great if your kids like them, I think mine were a bit too old. If your kids are not fussed about the zingzillas, don't bother, the food was awful, there was no fresh orange juice and the coffee was vile. Some kids were even having fizzy drinks!! The breakfast at the hotel is much nicer and there is more choice.

After a day at the park, we took the kids to the Odeon which is by the Asda literally 2 minutes away and ate out at Franky and Benny's situated in the Odeon as we didn't fancy the food there after the breakfast.

There is not really much for the kids to do of an evening, we have stayed at many theme park hotels and this does not come close. It has a little back garden with a mini golf, mini hut with a few soft play items and a climbing frame which is great if its nice weather otherwise you'd be stuck in your room because the indoor play area is basically a room with a play station, small air hockey, a desk with lego items and a corner built in 2 storey house which is a danger for toddlers climbing the ladder and it does get busy. They did have a small selection of DVD's.

This is a nice hotel, a great location too however, you could probably stay at an equally nicer hotel for 1 night as Gullivers world is a small theme park.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies looked great and alot of people were impressed with the family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catliamsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed the one night and did Gullivers World and Splashland across the two days. The children were wowed by their accommodation and particularly liked having a TV in their room. The only thing I'd change in the children's area is to have a dimmer on the lights, mine still sleep with a night light and the lights in their area were too bright and we had to have the light on by the door which made it too bright for us. Great to have a sheet provided for the travel cot.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful and obliging. Breakfast was ok, but they were a bit caught out by people wanting hot breakfast when the service started and it was a half cooked breakfast rather than full breakfast - scrambled eggs, baked beans and bacon. Soft drinks were reasonably priced £1 for a bottle of water.
Still some issues to do with set up, asked for the newspaper we had ordered the previous night, to be told they hadn't yet sorted out a contract for someone to deliver papers, so not sure why they asked.
Would definite return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just got back from a weekend at gullivers. We had a lovely time, the hotel is lovely very clean. Lovely outside area at the front of the hotel to sit in the sun with a nice drink. The staff were friendly, our room was very spacious and well equipped. The hotel car park is only small but you can park on the gullivers world car park. When we go again we would book a room with a balcony. There was a small choice of DVDs for the children to choose to watch on their own tvs. Little touches like bottles of juice in your room for the children (which were replenished daily) I thought was a great idea. The lift wasn't working at the time, but the staff did offer to help us up with our luggage. Air conditioning in the room was brilliant as it was very warm the weekend we were there. Overall a nice hotel, excellent value for money and very family friendly !!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 210 very spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We traveled from The Midlands on a Sunday and spent a lovely day at Chester Zoo, then it was a short easy journey to Warrington to book in at the Gullivers hotel. The hotel is situated very close to the theme park with its own car parking so it is easy and convenient to unload baggage. Check in was relatively pain free with two excited children the only hitch being the room entry card was not activated but this was soon put right and we were in our room. We had a suite which was presented to a very high standard with some lovely attention to detail such as a chilled bottle of wine and squash for the kids, the kids also loved the Gully mouse cuddly toys that had been left in the room for them. The children had a seperate area where they had tree house bunk beds which both contained tv`s and a play area with bean bags and a chalk board which they loved. As the hotel is new we were expecting it to be clean and tidy and we were not disappointed there was a nice social feel amongst the other guests and we felt comfortable to let the children mix and play in the inside and outside play areas which is not always the case as our daughter has quite severe learning difficulties, the only improvement i would recomend would be more regular glass collecting in the outside area and i`m not sure the crazy golf is the best use of space in the play area. The eating area was very nice, we had breakfast and there was a good choice of cereals,muesli,yoghurts,croissants and a nice cooked selection. we ate out in the evenings and Warrington has plenty of pubs and resteraunts to choose from and also just up the road is a large Asda which is good for topping up on essentials. We had two lovely days in the park and the children also had a two hour session in The Splash zone where we could have a coffee and watch while they enjoyed themselves on the slides and various water adventures.One improvement which we felt could be made was maybe the park wrist bands could have been issued on check in so as to let the kids have a brief spell in the park on the day of arrival other than that a big thank you and we will certainly be back. Great service and value.

Room Tip: we heard people trying to upgrade to the suites but they were told " They are very popular, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just returned from our 2 night stay at this lovely hotel right next to Gullivers World, Warrington.

I was actually really surprised at how lovely the hotel was inside and out.

All the staff were excellent friendly polite especially the young female receptionist and a young gentleman call Will. The only thing I would say is this hotel could clearly do with additional staff, reception was only manned by one person who had to deal with visitors, calls, the bar and shop area. I watched at reception a little girl asking the gentleman behind reception, who I believe to be the manager and who was clearly very busy, could she go into the shop at Gullivers World as she wanted to purchase something but her wristband had expired, he went out of his way to make a phone call for her to Gullivers so she could go in. He listened, which is very rare for people to listen to children, and he took time and effort. Well Done you !!!

The rooms are very spacious and very very clean.

The breakfast - had a wide range to choose from hot and cold and was topped up regularly.

We didnt have our evening meal in the hotel we choose to eat in the all you can eat buffet at the park - the kids enjoyed this but i was disappointed.

The only thing I would say is that there isnt any childrens entertainment at the hotel, there is however a large outside play area and a games room.

I would definitely stay here again.

Thanks again to all the staff at Gullivers Hotel !!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with balconies there are many of them and the family suites i believe have air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed one night at the Gulliver's Hotel and had a really enjoyable stay. It was our son's birthday whilst we were there and after mentioning this to staff we arrived to find the room decorated and a cake!! Very impressed. Rooms were clean and the decor is really lovely. The outside appearance of the hotel along with reception and the dining room are all very nicely decorated and the play areas both outside and in are great for kids.

Reception was busy, but we did not feel as though we lost any attention because of it, staff were really helpful, knowledgable and forthcoming in information for us to help us with our stay.

I actually found the buffet for dinner quite good value for money, and although I have seen people describe the food as 'basic' I found it ideal for children, it suits everyone to have a variety of pizza, garlic bread, salad, chips and pasta. I would also like to mention that someone stated the breakfast was not cooked, but we ate at the park and there was cooked food there, no extra charge.

Overall I found the attention to detail fabulous and being able to walk to the theme park in the morning was great, my children had a great time with a variety of rides which suited them both (age 3 - on the day! and 8). Would definately recommend - great value for money.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the bunk beds - my kids LOVED them!! Especially having their own TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrington hotels
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
4.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington Central North Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Property: The Gullivers Hotel
Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing