We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Gem”

The Victorian Tea Room and Sweet Shop
Ranked #8 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Warrington
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Small family run business based in Glazebury,Warrington,Cheshire. Specializing in Afternoon Teas, Cream Teas Light Lunches, Coffees and Speciality Teas. Opening Times: Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday,Friday Saturday and Sundays (7 days week) 10.00am - 4.00pm
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Gem”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely little tea room which I have visited a few times now. Went today and it had new owners as must have been over a year since I last went. The new owners/staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The have rearranged the sweet shop area which I feel gives more light and space to the tea room.The menu has a good mix of choice and nothing is too much trouble. I wanted brie adding to my panni and this was not a problem. The food was lovely and hot and was accompained by salad,colslaw and crisps.
The cakes looked lovely but we were too full to partake. However if you wish you can take your cake home in a take out box for later.
You can also buy lots of different sweets to take home if you want to as well. Yum Yum!!
Hope to return there soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blossomEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    22
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

With birthday party of fourteen when we were leaving manager told new customers "just wait, as this lot are going." (Nice after we had spent £140) I told manager that the carrot cake was too dry to eat it was just a plate of crumbs he replied "was it." (End of conversation) and he walked off. Had to ask three times for child's cold drink. The young waiter worked very hard as it was busy and he is an asset. Very disappointed as I had given recommendation.

Helpful?
3 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL AFTERNOON TEA”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went to this delightful tea room yesterday. As we had a lady in a wheelchair, the door was opened for us, and furniture moved so we could sit in the window.
For our afternoon tea we had a choice of sandwich fillings, and cakes. Service was very efficent, and the food was well presented.
A very enjoyable experience, but one tip. If you go for afternoon tea, don't eat lunch before. We had to ask for a doggie bag because if we had eaten all the delicious sandwiches, we wouldn't have had room for the cakes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Little0ldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Brilliant Victorian Tea House, relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. Love the afternoon tea for two and picking up retro sweets after!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely little eatery”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have visited here several times now. Delicious, home cooked treats. A perfect place for a reasonably priced lunch or breakfast!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meljol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victorian Tea Room and Sweet Shop also viewed

 
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 

Been to The Victorian Tea Room and Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing