We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden centre and lovely food.”

Bents Garden & Home
Ranked #10 of 468 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bents Garden & Home is a family owned garden centre that has evolved into a unique lifestyle destination where customers can discover the products, advice and inspiration to make outdoor and indoor living more beautiful.There’s something for everyone to enjoy from the all-weather Open Skies Glass House, providing the perfect undercover shopping environment for outdoor plants, to the award winning Fresh Approach Restaurant where world-class chefs use fresh, local ingredients to create an extensive array of culinary delights.Bents’ new adventure play area, with its sensory experiences, climbing walls and adventure towers is also providing to be a big hit with children and grown-ups alike, who can keep an eye on the little ones whilst enjoying a coffee and cake in the playground’s seating area.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went to Bents today it was a birthday treat the food is excellent ,my only complaint is that you have a hot meal and have to queue up with it in the same queue as people having drinks,so food can get cool, could do with some other arrangement to keep food hot.
Would be great to have waiter service !!!
The garden centre is lovely and all the displays are superb,could spend lots of time and money there.
I do look forward to our visits there.So well done to Bents.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucygemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Many congratulations on your birthday and thank you for choosing the Fresh Approach Restaurant to celebrate.

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit, however I am sorry if our Express Till was unavailable during your visit; this is an alternative way to pay without having to queue with diners purchasing drinks.

I am however pleased to tell you that we do have plans to develop our Restaurant in the future, which may include a waiter service; so thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,401 - 1,405 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

I go here all the time as I work just around the corner.
The food here is amazing and always so fresh and different. If you like crisp fresh salads, filling sandwiches, hearty soup and cakes that can only be described as jaw dropping then go go go!
Very busy around lunch times, but worth the wait, the cafe is self serve and you may think the que's look long, but everything is well organised and always a place to sit ( outside in the summer is very nice ).
Prices are expensive, but all produce is local and home made on the premises so I think worth it :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slincalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Pleased to hear you enjoy your visits to our Fresh Approach Restaurant and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely freshly made food a little expensive but you pay for quality. Cakes to die for and very large. Would recommend have lunch and then go around the centre before returning for a coffee and dessert!! Could spend all day at Bents

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gorgeous H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent visit to our Garden Centre and Fresh Approach Restaurant; we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Attractive displays, but very expensive prices
As an experienced gardener I go to quite a few garden centres; this one has gone very much up market over the years

Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Bents is an amazing, if not overly cheap garden centre, but the food itself makes it really worth the visit. I have eaten here many times, and never been disappointed yet. There are loads of tables, it is like a huge cafeteria, so there is never a worry about finding space, and there is a handy trolley/basket park near the entrance.

The entrance to the restaurant is rather shambolic - lots of different counters, queues at each getting in the way, and if you're not used to it, it isn't easy to work out where you want to be, as there seems to be no logic in how the counter is organised. If you have limited mobility/children in tow it wouldn't be easy. That said, there's always plenty of staff, and they are always willing to help.

Hot food is well cooked, freshly plated, and varied. I've tried most of the usual favourites, and the Sunday Roast is excellent. Hot plates come with a metal cover, to ensure the food is hot when you sit, which is very necessary, given it sometimes takes a bit to queue for drinks and paying.

The salads are huge, excellent, and have a wide variety of ingrediants. Pick your choice from the offered dishes, or chose your own salad- either from the service, or self service salad bar. The Greek Salad which is freshly prepared, has more feta than you could ever imagine, loads of lettuce, sun dried tomatoes, olives, cucumber, red onion, and dressing, and can be adapted how you want. I've never managed to finish one yet. Even on the 27th December, the first day of the sales and opening, plenty of fresh looking food was left at 3pm.

It might not seem like a first choice for a restaurant, and the atmosphere is certainly buzzing, but it is really worth a try if you haven't before. Prices are around £10 per person for a main/salad, depending on your choice, and menus change daily.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helena-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your visits and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bents Garden & Home also viewed

 
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 

Been to Bents Garden & Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing