We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bents”

Bents Garden & Home
Ranked #9 of 434 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bents Garden & Home is a family owned garden centre that has evolved into a unique lifestyle destination where customers can discover the products, advice and inspiration to make outdoor and indoor living more beautiful.There’s something for everyone to enjoy from the all-weather Open Skies Glass House, providing the perfect undercover shopping environment for outdoor plants, to the award winning Fresh Approach Restaurant where world-class chefs use fresh, local ingredients to create an extensive array of culinary delights.Bents’ new adventure play area, with its sensory experiences, climbing walls and adventure towers is also providing to be a big hit with children and grown-ups alike, who can keep an eye on the little ones whilst enjoying a coffee and cake in the playground’s seating area.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Myself and my partner visit Bents to have a wander round and also for a drink in their cafe quite often,we find it all very lovely and clean. However the last few times we have been we have both find the toilets near the cafe not to have been to the normal standard, my partner advised that when he was in the male toilets, there was some water leaking from the ceiling in one of the cubicals, it wasnt raining outside. The last time I went to use them I had to try 5 different cubicals, before I found one clean enough to use, or that had a working light. Quite dissapointing really that this side of things, in our opinion lets the trip to Bents down....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us and let me take this opportunity to apologise for the condition of our facilities during your visit.

We are disappointed that you did not have a good experience and would like to assure you that we do carry out regular checks however these have now been increased after sharing your feedback with the relevant teams.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope we may welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,363 - 1,367 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

We normally look forward to our Christmas trip to Bents, partly for the shopping but largely for the excellent food. Again, we took an aunt of ours who is partially disabled. No longer was there table service available so we struggled in the queues for food ( cafe style at restaurant prices). The trays were barely adequate for a main course, a cake each (the cakes are great!) and a drink,- let alone the cutlery. By the time we reached our table in the cafe, the food was, unsurprisingly, cold and all three meals had to be taken back to be reheated in the microwave. The table for three of us could barely accommodate the plates and drinks so we had to constantly offload items to the trolley service. .
We spent about £60 on food with two teas and a coke but overall felt that it was a poor experience and poor value. We'd already spent much more than that in the shop. An expensive and disappointing trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us and I am so sorry that you did not have a good experience this time.

It was one of our busiest weekends however this is no excuse for us not providing the high standard of service that you have received on previous visits.

I should be most grateful if you would contact our Catering Operations Manager, Tamzin Bates or myself directly on 01942 266 300 so we can discuss and resolve the concerns you have raised.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited Bents Garden Centre on Sunday morning with two of our young grandchildren to see the Christmas Displays. We all enjoyed drinks and thick, hot buttered toast in the Fresh Approach Restaurant before wandering through the extensive displays.

In the last 40 years we have seen Bents grow from small beginnings into a huge Garden Centre which has won the National Garden Centre of the Year Award several times. At its heart is the Fresh Approach Restaurant serving cooked breakfasts and really good hot and cold food at lunchtimes. We try to limit ourselves to main courses only although there is a range of delicious cakes available - for special occasions !

There is a huge covered garden area with plants on display and you can see further trees, plants and garden furniture in the large area outside. The centre also now sells a range of gifts and table and kitchenware. The covered area houses a Saturday Farmers Market once a month. One stall on it sells delicious home made pies and cakes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank PrestburyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to let us know the great feedback.

It is so nice to hear from customers who have been on the journey with us, seeing us grow to where we are now especially as it is our 75th anniversary this year and you are celebrating your 40th year with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoy your visits to the garden centre and restaurant and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Christmas is the time to go you will not be disappointed full of lovely things. I always have to limit the wife as she would spend a fortune on more decorations each year

Thank Moviestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Owner at Bents Garden & Home, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our Garden Centre. Your kind comments will be passed on to the team, as we really appreciate positive feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Where do they get these prices from ?
£7.95 for a tuna sweetcorn sandwich with a few crisps and a bit of salad... outrageous!
For the same price I could have a lovely pasta dish served to me in great surroundings in San Carlo in Manchester.... I love Bents as a garden centre but will certainly not be eating there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GaynorMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bents Garden & Home also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Bents Garden & Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing