We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service, good prices.”
Review of China Rose

China Rose
Ranked #107 of 420 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, good prices.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great little restaurant and the food and service was really good. Reasonably prices drinks and nice setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KenMeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“China Rose - brilliant food & fantastic value for money”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Matthew always gives you a warm welcome to the China Rose, food is top class and great value for money.
The menu is expansive and varied and food is cooked to perfection, the is also a good wine list.
At long last Culcheth has the excellent Chinese Restaurant which we have been looking for.
Thankyou Matthew & Katherine

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glazebury
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A spur of the moment decision to go and eat here. No problem getting a table and the food and service were very good. We had a voucher from which came from the local beer festival, which meant we had a very reasonable priced meal. Only downside was our table which was right under an air con unit and close to the door to the kitchen. Would ask to move it seated there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“More people need to know about this”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

An excellent little gem of a restaurant in a nice little village area. We have been to China Rose lots of times for different occasions with family and friends and found it an excellent place to eat and drink. The service is brilliant and after visiting only twice found the greeter remembered us and from then on the personal touch and service was excellent. The restaurant is contemporary in style and minimalistic but quite classy. My only complaint is the menu is limited and needs expanding but don't want to compromise the quality of the food as this is excellent. Really if more people got to know of the quality of the food and service the place would be mobbed!
The restaurant is on two floors and caters for parties and special occasions with a nice seated waiting are with bar service. There is parking near but the obvious place to park is in a small car park opposite the restaurant but beware !!! There is a small and not obvious sign that warns about clamping and visiting china rose does not allow you to park here my daughter parked for a total of 4 mins while she picked up a take out order and was clamped as the clampers sit in hiding waiting to clamp you. Funny thing is they didn't clamp two men who had been parked there for hours just picked in a 17 year old girl !
I wish this restaurant would deliver but the foods that good quality I don't mind driving to collect my take out order - honestly the prawn toast is so thick and tasty, spring rolls not greasy at all and duck mmmmmmmm
I've lost count of how many times I've eaten in and taken out food, met friends, had Xmas and birthday celebrations here and not one complaint. Great food, great service,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We live in Culcheth but had yet to try out the China Rose due to mixed reviews from family and friends. Anyway, there was a voucher in the local magazine so my husband and I thought we'd give it a go.

From the moment we arrived we could not fault the customer service or the food. The staff are really lovely and despite being very busy, took time to chat with us about the weekend etc. We chose the mixed starter and couldn't resist the crispy duck and then sizzling beef and chicken with cashew nuts - far too much really but it's always difficult to choose!

My only negative comment is about the lighting - our table seemed to be under a spotlight. We were there for a romantic night out but felt a little bit like we were in a canteen (hopefully after reading this the restaurant might dim the lighting a little?). Oveall though it was a lovely experience and we have recommended to the friends who went before who now say they will give it another try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 254sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Rose also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to China Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing