We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for the night.”
Review of Patten Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patten Arms Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the Patten Arms for one night last week.
We new it was an older hotel so we didnt expect to much but it was close to the Parr hall where we needed to go.
Walked into reception to sign in, the guy behind the counter was sat to one side playing on his computer. He signed us in without once making any eye contact (very impersonal). However he did then show us to our room and was then very polite.
The Room. (Room 6)
It was ok again for one night, However, the floor was a bloody nightmare. It did not matter where we stepped the floor squicked/squealled and even moved under our feet. The room appeared clean but the carpet seriously needs changing. Dont bother to have a shower, there is just NO water pressure and the shower hose was split.
The Bar.
By far the best part of the hotel, The staff was VERY pleasant and chatty, The beer was a good price and very nice, the food was excellent and good value for money.
Breakfast.
Very good, a fair selection, and a good size. Happy with that ;-)
Overall, would we stay again..... probably not. How ever the price was cheap and the location good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6. Floor very squeky and the level crossing outside gets on your nerves.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Patten Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

as a regular patron of the Patten Arms, I wan to comment on the utterly idiotic and malicious review which went under the above header. Of course the hotel is an old hotel, but it has the charm that you associate with, for instance, an Olde English Inn, and they do not gather the stupid comments of that reviewer. The hall and staircase are not grotty and are in line with the age of the hotel; the carpets are NOT grungy and soiled, and I have not in all the 15 years I have been staying at the Patten have I seen net curtains. I have NEVER had any problems with any beds, be they single or double in all these years, and regard the comment "repulsive" as a figment of a warped mind.
The hotel is warm and receptive. The staff are excellent. The hotel is excellent value for money and has a lot to recommend it. It is a pity that certain guests have nothing that recommends them!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights on a short break (Room 12). Excellent early check in, staff very helpful. The hotel was dated and creaky but it was very warm and cosy. It was very accessable for the train station as most of our break involved getting around by train. Breakfast was fine and kept us going for most of the day. We would probably use it again when we come to this side of the country.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back, it seemed quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for the night to go out with the girls, although the hotel is tired and old it was certainly clean, warm and functional. The staff were amazingly friendly and extremely helpful. I enjoyed a full english breakfast in the morning and even checked out later than normal, which wasnt a problem with the staff.a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had booked a room here on the recommendation of a friend who lived locally as a boy. The exterior looks fine, the publicity photos look plausible, and the reviews were mixed so we gave it a chance. Big mistake. Nothing about the room or journey via grotty halls/ staircase was acceptable for a hotel in 2013. The room: carpet was grungy and soiled, net curtains filthy. The pillows were flat and over- used, the duvet looked unappealing and scruffy. No bed sheet & a thin fitted sheet = repulsive. No- one unless desperate would want to sleep on that bed. Furniture old and stained, bathroom a total joke. The Bates motel is more attractive. I knew we would have to pay to walk out and a young man lounging at Reception stated that the photos were quite accurate on the Internet. No no you are so wrong. We got a Taxi to Premier Inn and consider ourselves lucky not to have to endure a night at the Patten Arms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thimblestitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm still reeling of shock at this place - I wish I had paid more attention to the ratings given previously. Walked in to find a weasly little person picking their nose and wiping the evidence on a copy of the "Daily Star" and when shown to the room, burst out laughing thinking that my friend was playing a joke and would jump out from behind the broken toilet door at any minute and then show me my real room. No. This did not happen.
Place stank, was noisy, and decided not a place I wanted to spend another second in - never mind a night.

Room Tip: I couldn't possibly give any comment. Just wish I had a camera to take photies.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is an old creaky floored building stuck in the 1970s. Our room had an awful avocado bathroom with no shower and no hot water. The one window was single glazed and when closed we could still hear the road and the tannoy announcements of the train station opposite.

Breakfast was OK, if a little small. The coffee was watery.

The bed were and comfy and the room was clean.

The hotel could benefit from investment, but was suitable for our purposes - i.e. somewhere to stay after a night out.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the main street - the station opposite has a constant stream of traffic...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrington hotels
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#7 of 21 in Warrington
1,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Warrington
Travelodge Warrington
#12 of 21 in Warrington
222 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
1,328 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villaggio
Villaggio
#15 of 21 in Warrington
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patten Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patten Arms Hotel

Address: Parker Street, Warrington WA1 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range: $58 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patten Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In A 160 Year Old Building, Our Hotel Consits Of 44 Bedrooms, All Of Which Are On-Suite, Have Freeview Colour Televisions And Tea/Coffee Facilities. Breakfast Is Complimentary With All Bookings We Also Have Our Own Bar, Restaruant And Meeting/Conference Facilities. The Hotel Has Been Decorated With The Granduer Of The Building In Mind.Parking And WiFi Are Available And Are Both Free Of Charge.Situated On the Outskirts Of Warrington Town Centre We Are Directly Opposite Warrington Bank Quay Rail Staion Which Is A Major Part Of The West Coat Mainline. Commuting Is Made easy With Near Access To The Motorway Network Which Include The M56, M62 And M6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Patten Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patten Arms Hotel Warrington
Patten Arms Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing