We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well below average: not clean, stuffy and very tired decor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Warrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well below average: not clean, stuffy and very tired decor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

On the outside the hotel looked very promising! The reception staff were very friendly and helpful but after that it went downhill. The room was very cramped, extremely hot and stuffy and the window didn't open more than an inch!!!!
The decor was very tired looking and parts of the room were actually a bit dirty :o(
the bathroom wasn't very clean - behind the door there was dirt, the towel rail and fittings were grubby :o(

although there is free parking and WiFi - housekeeping would prevent me from staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wewantperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    116
    87
    39
    12
See reviews for
75
110
11
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hu10 6as
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

hotel easy to find,staff very friendly meals very good .breakfast ok the hotel is in the middle of a refurb on booking ask for an upgraded room the foyer and restaurant very clean overall a very plesant. stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The main aprt of the hotel is very nice as is the restaurant, the room we stayed in was on the small side. It was a warm evening but the room was very stuffy and you can only open the window a small amount, they really could do with getting air con as we struggled to sleep. We had a room that faced onto the courtyard and as other people have said the sound does echo down there so if there are wedding guests down there late at night it can be noisy and wake you up. We went on a spring dinner, bed and breakfast package which I thought was good value as the food in the evening and the next morning was really good. The hotel is just on a resedential street so if you wanted to go out in the evening or something then it wouldn't be ideal but we just had a quiet night in at the hotel so for us it was fine. All the staff that we dealt with were all really nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobrien657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

On looking at the hotels website at all looked very nice for a weekend away with the wife, after a long drive to the hotel we got there early at about 1pm, We thought we would see if we could check in and settle in, Upon going to the desk we were left there for 5 min while the girl on the phone was chatting away in what i think was polish,,,,, When we were at last spoken too we were told that it was far to early to be given the key and we would have to come back at 2pm!!!!!! I mean to say what is 1hr if the room was ready which we were told it was,,


At 2pm we went back to get the key ad we were just pointed in the direction of the room,

upon getting in the room there was a smell on damp and the window would not open so we asked to move but were told they had no rooms as they were full as there was a wedding on so we just had to cope that night but did move for the second night.

We had booked in for a meal in the hotel restaurant at 7pm so went for a drink first in the hotel bar, i was lest standing at the bar for 10 min before i was served with not even a sorry or a smile

Food was ok but not 3 star

well that is my rant over just a shame customer service is not top of the hotels list!!

will not be back again that is for sure

Room Tip: try and find another hotel if poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coach_tripper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on business here and over a two week period had two different rooms- the refurbished room was considerably better than old tired rooms and would only go back if allocated one of these

The food was hit or miss depending on which chef was on duty - when it was good it was great

Staff were exceptional and tried everything to make stay comfortable and enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroquoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have stayed here lots of times on business and I've had very varied experiences.
Sometimes I have had great service and a great room and upgrade as a rewards customer and sometimes I've just been given a room and they've forgotten to give me any of the offers available as standard.
Food is OK but the menu is limited. There are hundreds of restaurants in the nearby towns though.
The major downside is the lack of mobile phone reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed one night on business.

Positives
Hotel is clean and staff are friendly and helpful.

Negatives
Hotel is in the middle of a residential area with no other shops or restaurants. This means you have to eat-in but unfortunately the hotel menu is limited and rather overpriced for what is essentially bar food. The resturant menu is the exact same as the bar menu.

I was also given a room with a fold down bed which meant no headboard and my pillows kept falling down the back leading to a poor sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wibblemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrington hotels
2.8 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.4 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#13 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington Central North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Warrington

Property: Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Address: Knutsford Old Road, Warrington WA4 2LD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hallmark Hotel Warrington Fir Grove)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Warrington 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Warrington is easy to reach by car, train or plane. Located within 5 minutes drive of the M6/M56 motorways and 10 miles from Manchester Airport. The hotel has 52 comfortable bedrooms, 10 of which have recently been refurbished. There's plenty of choice on the bar, lounge and restaurant menus. The hotel has lots of great facilities including a self-contained events centre with 4 flexible meeting rooms, a banqueting and wedding suite for up to 250 guests, with a licence to hold civil wedding ceremonies, onsite parking and free Wi-Fi. Hallmark Hotel Warrington is also a Green Business Tourism Scheme, Gold Award Winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Warrington
Warrington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing