We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb christening venue!”
Review of Duckegg Bluu - CLOSED

Duckegg Bluu
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Stylish friendly that has something for everyone. Family orientated child friendly bar and restaurant with simple fresh to artistically sophisticated British and Continental dishes. Our restaurant has one of the very best reputations in Cheshire for the last 6 years. We host exceptional events and parties including Weddings, Birthdays , christenings , and we always make any special occasion memorable for all the right reasons, We are a quality everyday eatery that goes that extra mile ... come in for just a drink , a snack or a full night out with extensive Al la carte menu.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We hired this restaurant exclusively on the Sunday of our son's christening for our friends and family to celebrate this special day with us. Paul, the owner, met me two weeks before the day to discuss food, drink, entertainment, balloons etc... and he ensured that all the pressure was taken off me and attended to every detail. On the day of the christening, each table had a lovely table decoration of balloons on it and it really felt like there was a party atmosphere in the restuarant with the background music being played as well. The selection of food, the presentation and quality of it were superb - all our friends and family thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff at Duck Egg were ready for our arrival and the whole function ran really smoothly. We were really happy we had held the christening at Duck Egg and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a venue for celebrating a special day!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really nice, relaxed, fine dinning experience. New menu which is good, excellent food so well done to the chefs. Friendly and welcoming staff. Light and airy restaurant. Early bird menu. Offers on in the week. You don't always need to make a reservation in the week. I have been here in an evening and at a lunchtime and enjoyed both. Drinks reasonably priced. There is also seating outside for when the whether is good and comfy sofas inside. I would recommend this restaurant, give it a try you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BessAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I came here for a work meal and was really looking forward to it, but the food was very average and disappointing and there was no atmosphere, in fact, there was only our table dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intuitiv990, Owner at Duckegg Bluu, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

I cannot really comment on your experience that you had at the time because i was not the owner then. We took over at beginning of December. We feel with new chefs and new management we have breathed a breath of fresh air into DEB and we have become greater value for money whilst increasing the quality and standards of our food and service. As you can see from recent reviews we are really trying hard to be exceptional and if you look at the pictures i think you will agree the whole place looks much better than when you visited. We have a new bar area and the whole atmosphere is greatly increased with a new momentum in the whole place. I hope you can give us another try and see how much we have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A really nice restaurant to spend an afternoon in - went here to have lunch with friend and ended up spending most of afternoon there. Enjoyed nice lunch and a few drinks - the wine was really good quality and I can recommend the mojito cocktails. Paul the owner was very welcoming and chatted to us throughout our vist - we even managed a drink out in the sun on the restaurants sun deck. Paul mixed our mojitos personally!! Have also eaten here in the evening and again its a nice experience with a good mix of food and nice quality wine on offer. There is a light airy feel to the restaurant - it's contempary without feeling unwelcoming - in fact Paul the owner makes you feel very welcome. I look forward to meeting my friend there again for our next lunch time get together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The restaurant itself is very light and airy (and bigger inside than I expected). Decorated in a modern way but homely rather than pretentious. One of us had the set menu (around £16 for 3 courses) and one ate off the a la carte menu. Both meals were delicious. Wine was also lovely and got a free glass of sparkling wine to boot, in line with an offer running at the mo. The service was friendly too. We went early on (6.00pm) and there was only us in until around 7.15pm when another couple arrived. Bit of a shame because the restaurant is great and all the front can be opened up so would be heaven in the Summer. Can eat outside too. Food is priced quite highly considering it isn't a city centre location but it is worth the extra. Would definitely go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckegg Bluu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing