We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rams Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Park Royal(Stretton)
$113
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
pentahotel Warrington(Warrington)(Great Value!)
$51
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Warrington(Warrington)(Great Value!)
$42
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Villaggio(Warrington)
    $88
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $68
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    $68
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $68
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Premier Inn Warrington North East Hotel(Warrington)(Great Value!)
    $68
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (114)
    Filter reviews
    114 results
    Traveler rating
    57
    23
    4
    9
    21
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    57
    23
    4
    9
    21
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnice sunday lunchfish menutagliatelledelightful country pubsunday roastdecent qualitybeef
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    106 - 111 of 114 reviews
    Reviewed August 30, 2012

    Visited the Rams Head for a meal after looking for a pub which served nice food and where we could take a small, well behaved dog. I phoned the pub beforehand and was quite pleased we had found somewhere which seemed good and in nice surroundings. The menu online looked good, stating 'hand cut chips'.
    On arrival the pub was quiet with not many diners. We had to go into the bar area (because of the dog), which was empty, but seemed very pleasant and clean. We waited a long, long time before having our orders taken.
    We then waited a long, long time before the meal was served, but the waitress had 'forgotten' to order one of the meals. We had not been given any cutlery and had to go and ask for it, and by the time it came, my meal was going cold. The chips were obviously frozen chips and not as stated on their menu.. Eventually the 'missing' meal arrived and looked as if it had been hastily microwaved.
    To be fair to them they did not charge us for the forgotten meal.
    The meal itself wasn't very good quality, and most of us left it.
    The staff did not seem at all concerned and I think they thought we were being unreasonable when we told them that we thought it was poor and that the service was dreadful.
    I would not recommend anyone to eat at the Rams Head, which is such a shame as it is in a lovely village and could be an ideal place to visit if they took the trouble to get their act together.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Vivienne F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 29, 2012

    Firstly if I could give this venue no stars thats how my review would start. We use this venue regularly as it has a private room so ideal for committee meetings. After many years of us using this venue with no issues this year they decided to charge us for the room (wit no pre warning) to add insult to injury when we arrived the table had to be set, once that done then the circus of delivering food in dribs & drabs, and tepid with it! Their excuse? The chef was having a bad night, apparently many meals had been sent back that night. It appears that locals are losing faith in the place alon with the management. Maybe one for Punch Taverns to take back and turn it around to the great place it once was.

    Stayed: May 2012
    Thank Angela L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 29, 2012

    We've used the private room at this pub every year for a number of years without fault. however, we presume its had a change of management as the overall experience this year was disgusting and I wouldnt recommend this place to any one. the food was cold and very poor quality, the room wasnt prepared and two young waiters tried their hardest to get the room ready for us. Although cutlery was missing ( no soup spoons etc) the waiteress even came upstairs to ask if everything was ok with the meal but stopped mid sentance and said "dont know why Im asking as I know your response ". We have discussed the issues witht he management who dont care at all and are quite abrupt. The complaint has been escalated to Punch Taverns whom Im hoping will resolve asap. Please dont go until they have a change of management

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank kandinsky101
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 10, 2012

    Just returned from Sunday lunch for 11 (table pre-booked) and extremely disappointed. Very quiet for a peak time on a good weather day (we later understood why). Food ordered took up to 1hour 35 minutes to arrive in dribs & drabs. Staff required chasing for service and when we politely expressed concern to the Manager she went on the offensive, stating that you pay for the food and NOT the service and the suggestion of a compensatory discount was met by her with the immediate threat of 'police action'. What an appalling way to treat a local group of mainly pensioners who dine out regularly together in the area. Manager then returned to her laptop, which was clearly of more interest than paying customers, their service & the pub's reputation.

    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Service
    4  Thank Welc0meH0me
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 16, 2012

    We went this pub and it was terrible as the food was a disgrace. This is not just a bad review, what they did to us was a disgrace as we are Jewish and ordered Lamb and it turned out they give us Pork. Also the chef does not know how to do a white wine reduction as the pasta sauce was like drinking a bottle of wine. We also ordered the jumbo cod which was only battered on one side and the jumbo was a massive over exaggeration. This could have been an off night, but be careful what you order as my experience it was not worth the average £15 pound a meal !!!!!!!!!

    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Service
    2  Thank steven201
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews