We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food”
Review of Giannis

Giannis
Ranked #31 of 84 Restaurants in Weybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $35
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Wandering around Weybridge, hungry on Saturday night, made a BIG mistake and decided to eat here.
Busy but waiter ( think owner) finds a table for us. Shame!
My wife's starter of avocado was a small plate of elderly leaves in a pool of gloop with an occasional mouthful of avocado.
My mushroom dish was a mess of furry thinly sliced mushrooms probably in the same pool of gloop.
We both had the calves liver, thin pieces of slime swimming in Bisto and the tiniest dish of fried potato which would not have made a dent in a 5 yr olds appetite but was intended for us to share!
2 bottles of Peroni, a bill of £45 and we were back on the street!
Really poor show.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank STEPHEN1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianpaolo P, Owner at Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

To all the people that are looking at this review, this person is two face, on the night that he visited my restaurant everything was very good only after he parted with his money went home and turned nasty like he has dune with other restaurants.He had 2 x 2 course set menu at £ 15.95 each 2x peroni beers at £ 3.50 each + 2 x bread & olives at £1 each total £ 40.90 he left £ 45 , a tip of 4.90 if you don't like your meal you do not leave a tip,and for Saturday night is a good value dinner, I have a good reputations with my clientele and I have never been mean with my portions, I do not need people like him, the only " Horrible" thing on his review is Him.
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited Good Friday and in walking towards the place was not over-impressed by the outside appearance, but our friend had booked the table and was already inside. It is small inside and we were not expecting too much but were in for a revelation - the food is excellent!
Very friendly staff, and we could see that some customers were regulars, and really enjoyed the fried Calamari and the Sardine Daily Special as starters, followed by a prawn dish, a Seafood Spagetti and a Tagliatelle dish for the 3 adults present. We could not find room for a dessert!
The meals and drink for all came to £60 with tip - really good value for money. Book a table if visiting Weybridge!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Small family run restaurant with lovely food, good wine and friendly staff. Had a bit of a wait on Mothers Day, but it was certainly worth it. Shall return next time we are in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AmandaNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant for the 2nd time while visiting the area. We were a party of 7 adults and 2 children...we ordered off a special menu and it was excellent. We all agreed the meal was top quality. The place was full and resulted in service a bit slow but it was worth the wait. Wine was reasonably priced. The only down side was a cover cost of £1 per person for olives and bread, and the 10% service charge. Don't think anyone would grumble if the cover charge was added in the price of a main meal...and we would have certainly giving a good tip anyway... I would however not let my last comments about charge put you off.... It's still great food at a reasonable price. Family run.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris2672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Small friendly restaurant with good service. Generous portions of well prepared and well presented food. Quiet and unobtrusive background music. Will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giannis also viewed

Weybridge, Surrey
Weybridge, Surrey
 
Weybridge, Surrey
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to Giannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing