We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs air con!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Ship Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Weybridge
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs air con!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Arrived at the ship today and upon arrival the room rate was not what they had quoted, the sofa bed was not made up as requested and our room was like a sauna! They supplied a useless fan which made no difference and I doubt either us or our 4 year old son will get any sleep tonight! Add into the mix noisy children running passed the door at 10.30 makes for 3 pretty unhappy campers. On the plus side the room is very big and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager005, General Manager at Best Western The Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Victoria R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am sorry that you were so hot during your stay with us, we do offer fans in the bedrooms that do not have air conditioning. Our windows have security locks, which mean the windows will open fully if the lock is pushed within the frame of the window. This would then allow more air into the bedroom and to be circulated within. If ever we have alternative bedrooms available we always endeavour to upgrade our guests, if we can. I am pleased however that you found the bedroom to be in good order, spacious and tidy. Please do come back and visit us and I will ensure that you get an air conditioned bedroom if you contact me direct. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

John Robinson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    196
    107
    60
    37
See reviews for
75
171
36
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights on business. On the first day checked in but had to return to reception twice as the key wouldn't work. On the second day the key wouldn't work again. Seemed to be a common theme as I saw several people reporting the same problem. Rooms are ok but in need of a little TLC. Beds on the other hand! I had a twin room and the beds were little bigger than an iPhone. Spent most of the night in fear of falling off. At 5ft 10 I'm no giant but my feet were sticking out of the end. Overall a decent hotel but colleagues told me there are better in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NWKTJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager005, General Manager at Best Western The Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear NWKTJJ,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bedroom keys are operated through an electronic key system, on occasions static electricity, mobile phones and other such devices can indeed play a part in interfering with the coding on the back of the key card, this does seem to happen in hotter more humid weather, it is a rare occurrence nonetheless an inconvenience when is does happen; reception is manned 24hrs. We do have an ongoing bedroom refurbishment programme, starting with the upgrade of our bathrooms, followed by the rooms and corridors. Our Restaurant and ground floor areas have already been refurbished. I trust that during this programme you will come back and visit us at BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel, I would be delighted to talk you through our project. Many thanks once again.

Kind regards

John Robinson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglass, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for 8 days in an executive room and had a good stay. The staff is very friendly and the bar is a good place to eat and have a pint. We will be back in Nov. We were there to visit our daughter and son in law which was an easy walk from the hotel so it is very convenient for us. The hotel has a good history and the town of Weybridge is a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager005, General Manager at Best Western The Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Donald D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us; that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the bar, the beer and the food. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in November, perhaps on your return you will try Gordon’s Restaurant, where we serve fantastic food, lovingly prepared by our team of chefs, at reasonable prices. Once again many thanks from all the team at BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel.

Kind regards

John Robinson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I would have rated it higher but there was no hot water on the Saturday morning as the boiler had broken. Our room was a good size, the ensuite bathroom was a tired and could do with a refurb, the towels were large and the bed was comfy. Unfortunately like most hotels the pillows were hard, we have a feather one at home and I had a bit of a stiff neck. The breakfast was good buffet and cooked with a good choice and prompt service. I would stay again if in the area. Good value

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanager005, General Manager at Best Western The Ship Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear SamEssexEngland,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast to your satisfaction. I note your comment regarding the bathroom, we are actually having all our first floor bathrooms refurbished as you can imagine this is a large project but we are making head way. This may have been part of the reason why there was boiler problems, for which I am most sorry. Please do come back and visit us, as I would be delighted to show you the new bathrooms and we would all appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel.

Kind regards

John Robinson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weybridge
1.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Anchor Hotel
The Anchor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Ship Hotel

Property: Best Western The Ship Hotel
Address: Monument Green, Weybridge KT13 8BQ, England (Formerly Best Western Ship Hotel Weybridge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Weybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Weybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Ship Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship is an historic hotel in the lovely old town of Weybridge, close to the Thames and very convenient to central London and access to the M25 and M3 motorways. With 76 individually decorated bedrooms, from original-beamed character to modern, airy and bright, The Ship is the perfect base from which to explore, relax, or conduct your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weybridge Ship Hotel
Ship Hotel Weybridge
Best Western The Ship Hotel Weybridge, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing