We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STANDARD INDIAN FOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hussain - CLOSED

Hussain
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“STANDARD INDIAN FOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A small standard nothing special Indian (Bangladeshi?) restaurant.
Menu has all the usual suspects with nothing novel or exciting.
Not a lot more to say everything is like most other Indian restaurants of its type.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Indian with Poor Service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited Hussain's for the first time after reading some decent reviews on Tripadvisor. We phoned up and booked a table for the same night. We arrived and were seated straight away. It went downhill from here.

It then took 5 minutes to have the menus handed to us, and a further 5 minutes before anyone asked us what we would like to drink. I know restaurants are busy on a Friday night...but, this is no excuse for such poor service at the start of us being seated. And yes...we nearly walked out!!

We eventually were asked what we wanted as a starter, and we ordered poppadoms. I thought they would have taken our main meal order at the same time, but this was not the case and we had to call over a waiter as we didn't want to have to wait yet again before giving our mains order.

The restaurant is not the biggest, which is fine...but, there were too many tables crammed into a small space. At one point they had to point across our table to seat another couple. The waiters were brushing past our chairs. When they were serving another table the serving trolley was up against one of our coats which was on the back of our chair.

The food generally is good, however it's not outstanding and we have had better. It certainly does not make up for the slow service.

To top off the poor service we experienced, we asked for the bill and after waiting 10 minutes without anybody bringing it over, we gave up and had to go to the bar to pay up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheHosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Portions of food small, quality average, price expensive for what you get. We ate there due to the fantastic reviews but were disappointed as the reviews did not match the poor quality overall ! If you want quality eat at The Gaylord.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffSeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An Excellent Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This Indian restaurant has been in Weybridge for many years and has consistently kept a very high standard of food, service and ambience. As you enter the restaurant you are made to feel very welcome. The staff are very helpful when you are selecting items from the menu - everything is delicious so it is hard to choose. We particularly like the prawn korma as well as the vegetable curries served with coconut rice. The spinach with cheese is another favourite. The Kingfisher Beer and the Cobra Beer are good with the curry. We had not been to the restaurat for a long time and we were glad to see the high standard of service and delicious food had been maintained.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeybridgeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still the best Indian in Weybridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lovely food, lovely manager, great offers - stick with Hussain's - they generally deliver and provide the best Indian food in Weybridge - and for years now.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank edson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hussain also viewed

 
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing